Kane County Health Department Recognized for 2021 Community Health Assessment

Kane County Health Department Recognized for 2021 Community Health Assessment

The Kane County Health Department was recently recognized by the Kane County Planners for the 2021 Plan of the Year, the KCHD 2021 Community Health Assessment.

The KCHD Community Heath Assessment was recognized for being completed using a communitywide strategic planning process for improving community heath and strengthening local public health systems.

Utilizing the Mobilizing for Action through Planning and Partnerships process to help communities prioritize public health issues, identify resources for addressing them, and develop and implement a community health improvement plan.

More than 60 organizations and entities from across Kane County have signed on to contribute to the MAPP process.

The KCHD 2021 Community Health Assessment can be found online at this page of the KaneHealth.com website.

Kathy Fosser

“We are grateful to our community partners AMITA Mercy Medical Center, AMITA St. Joseph Hospital, Northwestern Medicine Delnor Hospital, Rush Copley Medical Center, and Advocate Aurora Sherman, along with the INC Board and a number of community partners,” said KCHD Interim Executive Director Kathy Fosser. “We are fortunate to be assisted by partners who share a mutual interest in improving the health of Kane County residents.”

The Kane County Planners Holiday Forum started 47 years ago when colleagues gathered to celebrate the holidays and talk about planning issues concerning Kane County. The Forum brings people together who work in planning, development, engineering, and related areas to learn, network and recognize each other’s accomplishments.

The Forum is funded from registration fees and is not considered a government function. The 47th annual Forum was hosted by the Kane County Development & Community Services Department.

Feature Photo Caption

From left to right:

  • Rita Tungare, city of St. Charles director of Community & Economic Development, receiving Planner of the Year;
  • Mark VanKerkhoff, Kane County Director of Development and Community Services;
  • Stacy Zeng, Kane County Health Department community health planner, receiving the Plan of the Year Award; and
  • Chris Aiston, city of St. Charles Economic Development director, receiving the Impact on Planning & Legacy Award.

SOURCE: Kane County Health Department news release