5th Kane Redistricting Town Hall Is Wednesday, June 9, in Hampshire

5th Kane Redistricting Town Hall Is Wednesday, June 9, in Hampshire

The fifth of five Town Hall meetings on Kane County redistricting will be held at 6 p.m. Wednesday, June 9, at the Hampshire Township Office, 170 Mill Ave., Hampshire

The Town Hall meetings are designed to provide an opportunity for elected officials to listen to residents’ opinions and to understand their priorities in setting the boundaries for the 24 Kane County Board districts as well as local precincts.

Redistricting is done once every 10 years, timed with the U.S. Census, to ensure that districts have about same population totals.

As you can see by the map below, there has been a population shift since the last redistricting, such that some Kane County Board districts have significantly higher populations than others.

County Board District 9, for example, now has 30,013 residents, while County Board District 11 has 20,422, according to data compiled and shared by Kane County.

The County Board’s responsibility will be to make sure boundary lines are redrawn fairly, so that there is equal population within each district and that there are no advantages given to any political party.

The first Town Hall meeting was held Tuesday, May 25, at The Prisco Center, 150 W. Illinois Ave., Aurora. The second was Wednesday, May 26, at the Elburn Lions Club, 500 Filmore St., Elburn. The third was Thursday, May 27, at the Adult Activities Center, 665 Barrington Ave., Carpentersville. And the fourth was at 6 p.m. Wednesday, June 2, via Zoom and at the Kane County Government Center, 719 S. Batavia Ave., Geneva.

The Town Hall meetings will focus on the redistricting efforts under the jurisdiction of the County Board — those 24 County Board districts and the precincts within Kane County. They are not meant to be sounding boards regarding federal government or state of Illinois reapportionment.

On April 26, the U.S. Census Bureau released congressional apportionment counts. Six states — Texas (two seats), Colorado, Florida, Montana, North Carolina, and Oregon — gained seats. Seven states — California, Illinois, Michigan, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia — each lost a seat.

The Illinois General Assembly is responsible for drawing both congressional and state legislative district lines. Gov. JB Pritzker recently signed off on redistricting maps submitted by the General Assembly.

YouTube Links to May 20 Kane County Reapportionment Task Force Meeting

Kane County’s Present District Boundaries And Population Totals

Read More