4th Redistricting Town Hall Is Wednesday, June 2, in Geneva (And on Zoom)

4th Redistricting Town Hall Is Wednesday, June 2, in Geneva (And on Zoom)

The fourth of five Town Hall meetings on Kane County redistricting will be held at 6 p.m. Wednesday, June 2, via Zoom and in the Board Room of the Kane County Government Center, 719 S. Batavia Ave., Geneva.

To join via Zoom, click on this link. The meeting ID is 935 5980 3540, and the passcode is 017679. Scroll down for more-detailed instructions.

The Town Hall meetings are designed to provide an opportunity for elected officials to listen to residents’ opinions and to understand their priorities in setting the boundaries for the 24 Kane County Board districts as well as local precincts.

Redistricting is done once every 10 years, timed with the U.S. Census, to ensure that districts have about same population totals.

As you can see by the map below, there has been a population shift since the last redistricting, such that some Kane County Board districts have significantly higher populations than others.

County Board District 9, for example, now has 30,013 residents, while County Board District 11 has 20,422, according to data compiled and shared by Kane County.

The County Board’s responsibility will be to make sure boundary lines are redrawn fairly, so that there is equal population within each district and that there are no advantages given to any political party.

The first Town Hall meeting was held Tuesday, May 25, at The Prisco Center, 150 W. Illinois Ave., Aurora. The second was Wednesday, May 26, at the Elburn Lions Club, 500 Filmore St., Elburn. And the third was Thursday, May 27, at the Adult Activities Center, 665 Barrington Ave., Carpentersville.

The remaining Town Hall meetings will take place at the following times, dates, and locations:

  • 6 p.m. Wednesday, June 2 — Kane County Government Center, 719 S. Batavia Ave., Geneva. (This session will be conducted via Zoom and in-person.)
  • 6 p.m. Wednesday, June 9 — Hampshire Township, 170 Mill Ave., Hampshire.

The Town Hall meetings will focus on the redistricting efforts under the jurisdiction of the County Board — those 24 County Board districts and the precincts within Kane County. They are not meant to be sounding boards regarding federal government or state of Illinois reapportionment.

On April 26, the U.S. Census Bureau released congressional apportionment counts. Six states — Texas (two seats), Colorado, Florida, Montana, North Carolina, and Oregon — gained seats. Seven states — California, Illinois, Michigan, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia — each lost a seat.

The Illinois General Assembly is responsible for drawing both congressional and state legislative district lines.

Your Invite to Zoom

Kane County is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting!

  • Topic: Kane County Redistricting Town Hall June 2 2021 – Geneva
  • Time: Jun 2, 2021 06:00 PM Central Time (US and Canada)
  • Link To Join Zoom Meeting: https://zoom.us/j/93559803540?pwd=TS9UVlFPUHhnbzQ5OERpaDdaQURQdz09
  • Meeting ID: 935 5980 3540
  • Passcode: 017679
  • One Tap Mobile: 
    • +13126266799,,93559803540#,,,,*017679# US (Chicago)
    • +12678310333,,93559803540#,,,,*017679# US (Philadelphia)
  • Dial By Your Location:
    • +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
    • +1 267 831 0333 US (Philadelphia)
    • +1 646 518 9805 US (New York)
    • +1 669 219 2599 US (San Jose)
    • Meeting ID: 935 5980 3540
    • Passcode: 017679
  • Find your local number: https://zoom.us/u/acWzXn2JO
  • Join by SIP: 93559803540@zoomcrc.com

YouTube Links to May 20 Kane County Reapportionment Task Force Meeting

Kane County’s Present District Boundaries And Population Totals

Read More