Local Infrastructure Projects Get $36.6 Million of $1 Billion in Rebuild Illinois Grants

Local Infrastructure Projects Get $36.6 Million of $1 Billion in Rebuild Illinois Grants

As summer construction season ramps up, the Illinois Department of Transportation today announced the fourth round of $250 million in Rebuild Illinois funded grants is available to advance municipal, township, and county projects across the state — including dozens of projects in Kane County.

With the latest round of grants, $1 billion in funding has now been distributed to address local transportation needs. The funding ensures that local governments can continue to invest in projects that sustain good-paying jobs and enhance quality of life for Illinois residents.

Of that $1 billion, more than $36.62 million is going to projects undertaken by Kane County, by 24 municipalities in Kane County and by 16 townships in Kane County. Click this link or scroll down to see a list of distribution for our local units of government.

“In a sign that Illinois is overcoming years of dysfunction, we put together a bipartisan-backed Rebuild Illinois plan to build new roads and bridges and ports and airports and to fix existing ones. It’s the largest infrastructure investment in Illinois’ history. While other Midwestern states struggle to modernize, Illinois is passing them by. Already, our Rebuild Illinois plan has improved over 3,000 miles of highways, completed over 180 bridges, and launched hundreds more projects,” said Gov. JB Pritzker. “But Rebuild Illinois isn’t just about building gleaming new state roads and bridges. It’s also about fixing local roads and bridges that make a big difference in people’s daily lives.”

A total of $1.5 billion spread out in six installments is being invested over three years to advance municipal, township and county projects across the state. Projects include road and bridge improvements, traffic signal upgrades, new storm sewers and bike paths, sidewalk replacements and other long-term maintenance needs, with financial oversight from IDOT.

“At IDOT, there is no such thing as a federal road, a state road, a county road or a township road. They are all Illinois roads that the public depends on each day,” said Acting Transportation Secretary Omer Osman.

A complete list of local agencies and awards can be viewed here.

The funding is in addition to the regular contributions through the state’s motor fuel tax formula, which have increased due to Rebuild Illinois and already account for $706.5 million to local governments in this fiscal year alone.

Passed in 2019, Rebuild Illinois is investing $33.2 billion into the state’s aging transportation system, creating jobs, and promoting economic growth. The landmark capital program is not only the largest capital program in state history, but also the first one that touches all modes of transportation: roads and bridges, transit, waterways, freight and passenger rail, aviation, and bicycle and pedestrian accommodations.

As part of its current FY2021-26 Proposed Highway Improvement Program, IDOT is investing a total of $21.3 billion to improve roads and bridges. Of that, $4.7 billion is identified for the local transportation system.

Rebuild Illinois Grants For Kane County Units of Government

Kane County

  • County Kane County — $11,519,270


  • Aurora — $8,694,881
  • Batavia — $1,144,312
  • Big Rock — $49,471
  • Burlington — $27,152
  • Campton Hills — $489,051
  • Carpentersville — $1,682,351
  • East Dundee — $125,656
  • Elburn — $246,129
  • Elgin — $4,753,343
  • Geneva — $944,403
  • Gilberts — $302,235
  • Hampshire — $244,415
  • Kaneville — $21,265
  • Lily Lake — $43,628
  • Maple Park — $57,556
  • Montgomery — $810,091
  • North Aurora — $766,287
  • Pingree Grove — $199,117
  • Sleepy Hollow — $145,164
  • South Elgin — $965,932
  • St Charles — $1,448,744
  • Sugar Grove — $395,291
  • Virgil — $14,454
  • West Dundee — $322,094


  • Aurora Township — $95,855
  • Batavia Township — $31,574
  • Big Rock Township — $65,299
  • Blackberry Township — $136,880
  • Burlington Township — $64,472
  • Campton Township — $72,622
  • Dundee Township — $62,934
  • Elgin Township — $64,725
  • Geneva Township — $6,927
  • Hampshire Township — $73,655
  • Kaneville Township — $52,879
  • Plato Township — $89,840
  • Rutland Township — $65,345
  • St. Charles Township — $205,477
  • Sugar Grove Township — $47,920
  • Virgil Township — $71,474

SOURCE: state of Illinois news release