Kane County Mental Health Court Recertified by State Supreme Court

Kane County Mental Health Court Recertified by State Supreme Court

During Mental Health Awareness Month, there’s probably no better time to celebrate — and congratulate — the recent re-certification of the Kane County Mental Health Court.

The Illinois Supreme Court re-certified the Kane County Treatment Alternative Court for the next three years.

For re- certification, members of the Special Supreme Court Advisory Committee for Justice and Mental Health Planning, along with the Administrative Office of Illinois Courts, completed a review of the Mental Health Court’s policies, procedures, handbook and other supporting materials.

Experts interviewed team members, observed the team during staffing and observed a court session. They determined that the Kane County program complied with the Illinois Supreme Court Problem-Solving Court Standards.

“I commend Kane County for implementing evidence-based practices proven to provide participants with necessary treatment and community interventions to reduce the risk of recidivism while enhancing public safety,” said Marcia Meis, director of AOIC.

Judge Marmarie J. Kostelny, who presides over the program, said everyone involved works diligently to ensure the program meets the standards.

“Our team meets quarterly to monitor and employ the best evidence-based practices,” she said. “We are fortunate to work with the Kane County Diagnostic Center, Ecker Center and the Association for Individual Development as treatment partners.”

The mission for the Kane County Treatment Alternative Court is to provide justice for participants with mental illness, enhance public safety and promote mental health treatment in the community.

The court uses a systematic approach that brings together community mental health agencies to address an individual’s needs and to provide comprehensive treatment. Participants work closely with the probation department, the judge and the treatment team to facilitate positive behavioral change.

SOURCE Office of the Chief Judge, 16th Circuit Court news release