After a Year's Hiatus, Kane County Educator of The Year Event Returns April 30 With Live, Virtual Event!

After a Year’s Hiatus, Kane County Educator of The Year Event Returns April 30 With Live, Virtual Event!

It’s a live, virtual event, but the 45th Annual Educator of the Year Awards Ceremony is back after a one-year hiatus caused by the the COVID-19 pandemic.

File photo from 2018 Educator of the Year awards.

According to a news release from the Kane County Regional Office of Education, fans and family of Kane County educators who have been nominated for awards in eight categories can follow along on live streams on You Tube and Facebook beginning at 5 p.m. Friday, April 30.

For more information, visit the Educator of the Year Page on the Regional Office of Education website.

“After almost two years of anticipation, we are excited to host the 45th Annual Educator of the Year Awards Ceremony,” Kane County Regional Office of Education Superintendent Patricia Dal Santo said the news release. “We encourage you to join in on the action throughout the night through sharing on social media by tagging @kanecountyroe and using the hashtag #EOTY45.”

Posts will be shown throughout the live stream event. To have your posts be shown, viewers are asked to make sure your profile/posting settings are set to public.

Meet the Nominees!

Click on the links to see articles about the nominees in each of the following categories.

Early Career Educator

  • Jenni Frenette – D300
  • Gabrielle Haugen – D302
  • Scott Parola – D301
  • Kyle Pollastrini – D129

Educational Service Personnel

  • Holly Fitzgerald – U46
  • Terri Helfers – D304
  • Julie Larson – D129
  • Maggie Schroeder – U46
  • Magdalena Williams – D131

Elementary/Early Childhood

  • Jaime Erazo – U46
  • Victoria Haier – D131
  • Susan Jones – D101
  • Jeni Moe – D129
  • Heidi Ochsenschlager – D129
  • Liliana Ramirez – D131
  • Mary Sterr – D129
  • Tammy Thompson – D304


  • Lauren Cook – Aurora Central Catholic
  • Andrew Kolba – Elgin Academy
  • Mary Miller – Mooseheart Child City & School
  • Jessica Mina – St. Charles of Borromeo

High School Teacher

  • Linda Brennan – D129
  • Allison Cable – D131
  • Kristy Harrier – D303
  • Brooke Heinsohn – D302
  • David Hintz – U46
  • Kim Johnson – D303
  • Jordan Zimberoff – D304

Middle School Teacher

  • Veronica Hancock – D303
  • Kendall Lawson – D302
  • Shawnna Strausberger – D131
  • Rebecca Wilding – D131

Student Support Personnel

  • Adam Campos – D131
  • Cathy Fuller – D304
  • Kelly Gavin – D302
  • Megan Gow – D303
  • Kelly Hesselbaum – D304
  • Carolyn Komel – D302
  • Patricia Levinson – D300

School Administrator

  • Michelle Jones – D129
  • Jill Maras – D302
  • Shelley Nacke – D300
  • Renee Reynolds – D303
  • Armando Rodriguez – D131
  • Trisha Shrode – U46

SOURCE: Kane County Regional Office of Education news release