What's Closed, Open New Year's Eve And New Year's Day in Kane County, IL

What’s Closed, Open New Year’s Eve And New Year’s Day in Kane County, IL

Unlike Christmas Day, which saw more closings of big-box stores and restaurant carryout service this year, New Year’s Day is a little more busy.

Scroll down for details.

Because the New Year’s Day holiday falls on Friday this year, there are some changes in some folks’ garbage pick-up schedules.

As usual, the stock exchanges are closed on New Year’s Day.

Schools are on break, and in-school attendance varies from district to district during Tear 3 coronavirus mitigations.

Some municipal government offices are closed altogether due to the pandemic. Those that are open to the public are closed on New Year’s Day.

Kane County non-emergency offices are closed on New Year’s Day. The Kane County Connects daily e-newsletters will take that day off, as well.

The most important “open/closed” advice, of course, is coming from the Kane County Health Department and other public health officials, who are asking residents to avoid big celebrations and get-togethers, reduce in-person holiday shopping and do all we can to stop the spread.


  • The Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago is closed New Year’s Day but open on New Year’s Eve Day on Thursday, Dec. 31.
  • Local banks are closed for the New Year’s holiday, as well. Hours for New Year’s Eve Day vary, so consult your local bank before you go.


  • Many local businesses are closed New Year’s Day, but consult your local chambers of commerce for more information.
  • Many local restaurants are open for carry-out and generally are very busy on New Year’s Eve.
  • Many pharmacies will be open, including CVS, Walgreens, and Rite Aid, but the hours may vary. Call ahead before making the trip.
  • Many big-name retail stores close early on New Year’s Eve but have regular store hours on New Year’s Day. Check out this excellent article on the offers.com website and the chart below for more info.

Cities And Villages

All municipalities’ non-emergency offices, including public works facilities, are closed Jan. 1, in observance of the New Year’s holiday. Many are closed due to the state’s Tier 3 mitigations for COVID-19. Be sure to check out the links below for updated information and specifics.

Waste and recycling collection services generally operate a holiday schedule, and that usually means a one-day delay, if your usual garbage collection day is Friday.

Click on the following links to find out more about what’s happening in your community.

  • Village of Algonquin — Closed New Year’s Day, according to the calendar.
  • City of Aurora— Offices are closed New Year’s Day. Since the week of Nov. 30, Aurora City Hall and other general city buildings are open to the public on Wednesdays and Fridays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. due to Tier 3 mitigations. The first hour is reserved for senior citizens.
  • City of Batavia — Except for the Police Department lobby, all areas of City Hall are closed to the public.
  • Village of Big Rock — Offices are closed due to pandemic.
  • Village of Burlington — Holiday hours not listed on website, but Village Hall is always closed on Fridays.
  • Village of Campton Hills — Offices are closed to the public due to the pandemic.
  • Village of Carpentersville —  Closed New Year’s Day. (Check the website for updates on the COVID-19 situation.)
  • Village of East Dundee — Closed New Year’s Day.
  • Village of Elburn — Closed New Year’s Day.
  • City of Elgin — Closed. (The city’s non-essential offices are closed to the public during Tier 3 mitigations.)
  • City of Geneva — Closed New Year’s Day. (The city’s non-essential offices are closed to the public during Tier 3 mitigations.)
  • Village of Gilberts — Open New Year’s Eve Day, closed New Year’s Day.
  • Village of Hampshire — Closed New Year’s Eve Day and New Year’s Day.
  • Village of Huntley — Closed New Year’s Day. (Offices are closed due to pandemic.)
  • Village of Lily Lake — Closed New Year’s Day. (Village offices are closed Friday through Sunday.)
  • Village of Maple Park — Offices are closed. (Village Hall is closed due to Tier 3.)
  • Village of Montgomery  — Closed New Year’s Day.  
  • Village of North Aurora — Closed New Year’s Day. (Offices remain open on non-holidays.)
  • Village of Pingree Grove — Closed New Year’s Day.  (The Municipal Center lobby is presently closed due to Tier 3.)
  • Village of Sleepy Hollow  — Closed New Year’s Day Day.  
  • Village of South Elgin — Closed New Year’s Day.  
  • City of St. Charles — Closed New Year’s Day.  (City buildings are closed due to Tier 3.)
  • Village of Sugar Grove — Closed New Year’s Day. 
  • Village of West Dundee — Closed New Year’s Day.

Kane County

Kane County Courts

Libraries and Park Districts

Post Offices


State Government



  • Metra trains are operating on alternate weekday and weekend schedules posted here, with no weekend service on the North Central Service, Southwest Service, Heritage Corridor and the Blue Island Branch of the Metra Electric Line. For all other information relating to Metra’s response to the pandemic, click here.


Links To Kane County Chambers of Commerce