Aurora's Davis Offutt Given Highest Honor in Property Assessment

Aurora’s Davis Offutt Given Highest Honor in Property Assessment

Aurora Township Assessor Davis Offutt was recently awarded the 2020 Marshall Theroux Memorial Award in recognition of his long career in property assessment, contributions to the industry, and dedication to community service.

Davis Offutt

Offutt received the Theroux Award at the Illinois Property Assessment Institute’s 62nd Annual Conference held at the Marriott Hotel in Normal, IL, during the third week of October.

The Theroux Award is the highest honor bestowed upon an individual in the Illinois property assessment industry.

Nominees for the annual Marshall Theroux Memorial Award are submitted from around Illinois. The winner is determined by the Board of Directors of the Illinois Property Assessment Institute.

Offutt was nominated for the award by a dozen colleagues from throughout the state.

“Davis is a second-generation assessment official, following in the footsteps of his father. He demonstrates a daily commitment to the office and the public he serves. As one of his constituents, I can attest to the helpfulness of his office and employees — which is a direct result of his attitude to public service,” said Jerald Rudman of North Aurora.

Chesney Leafblad, chief deputy assessor in Warren Township (Lake County) and Offutt’s daughter, said her father is a people person.

“The one thing that has held most true is his selfless dedication to his profession and his constituents,” she said. “Every person who walks into his office, called him on the phone, or emailed him is treated with the utmost respect.”

Josh Barnett, executive director of the Illinois Property Assessment Institute, said several county and township assessors from around the state where nominated for the Theroux Award.

“Davis’ nominations came from a diverse geographic area that included lager counties and townships in the collar counties as well as areas downstate,” Barnet said. “He has a reputation around Illinois as an expert in the field, an innovative thinker, and a compassionate servant leader.

“Davis is highly respected by his colleagues, and it was our pleasure to bestow the Theroux Award to such an inspiring and thoughtful person.”

Offutt is a lifelong Aurora resident and has worked in property assessment for more than 50 years. He is a U.S. Air Force veteran, past president of the Rotary Club of Aurora, past president of the Kane County Assessor’s Association, and active numerous community organizations.

About the Illinois Property Assessment Institute

The Illinois Property Assessment Institute is a non-profit organization established to elevate professional standards and provide educational opportunities to property assessment professionals throughout Illinois.

For more than 50 years, we have been the preferred credentialing and education provider for the property assessment industry within the state of Illinois. In Illinois, individuals who desire to be elected or appointed to the position of township or county assessor are required to hold a designation (similar to a certification).

The IPAI owns and confers the Certified Illinois Assessing Officer (CIAO) designation, which is the primary designation used to be an elected or appointed assessor. Learn more at

About the Marshall Theroux Memorial Award

The Marshall Theroux Memorial Award was established in 1980 and is named after former Wheeling Township (Illinois) Assessor Marshall Theroux.

Theroux was a leader in Illinois in the development of property assessment standards, practices, and education.

This award annually recognizes a member of the Illinois property assessment community who demonstrates high ethical standards, professional achievement, and dedication to the service of others.

Feature Photo Caption

From left to right, John Dabrowski of the IPAI Board of Directors; Aurora Township Assessor Davis Offutt and Aurora Township assessor; Warren Township Chief Deputy Assessor Chesney Leafblad, who is also Offutt’s daughter.