LWV Elgin Area Posts Candidate Forums on Facebook

LWV Elgin Area Posts Candidate Forums on Facebook

The League of Women Voters of the Elgin Area is hosting a series of virtual candidate forums live streamed to Facebook then posted for later viewing on both Facebook and on the LOWV Elgin Area website, lwvelginarea.org.

This week’s forums include:  Kane County States Attorney candidates Jamie Mosser (D) and Robert Spence (R) on Sept. 29; and Kane County Auditor candidates Penny Wegman (D) and Terry Hunt (R) on Oct. 1.

All forums begin at 7 p.m. on www.facebook.com/LWVElginArea/ and will be available on the LWVEA website lwvelginarea.org the next day.

To date,  these recorded forums are available: Illinois Senate District 25 candidates Karina Villa (D) and Jeanette Ward (R); Kane County Board Chairman candidates Corinne Pierog (D) and David Rickert (R); Kane County Circuit Clerk candidates Theresa Barreiro (D) and Thomas Hartwell (R); and Kane County Board District 22 candidates Verner Tepe (D) and Douglas Scheflow (R).

In addition to the LWVEA forums, recordings of joint LWV forums for several larger districts will be available on the website as they occur.

These include 6th Congressional District candidates Sean Casten (D), Jeanne Ives (R), and Bill Redpath (L); 14th Congressional District candidates Jim Oberweis (R) and Lauren Underwood (D); and Illinois Representative District 65 candidates Martha Paschke (D) and Dan Ugaste (R).

The website has Candidate Questionnaires for participating candidates, including some whose forums were cancelled due to their opponent declining to participate. The names of those who declined to participate are also listed.

For more information, go to the LWVEA website lwvelginarea.org or contact Carol Grom, the league’s voter service chair, by email at forums@lwvelginarea.org.

SOURCE: League of Women Voters of the Elgin Area news release