Kane Joins DuPage as West Suburban Region in State's New COVID-19 Mitigation Plan

Kane Joins DuPage as West Suburban Region in State’s New COVID-19 Mitigation Plan

Kane County and DuPage County are now joined at the hip in the fight against COVID-19 in Illinois.

During a noon press conference today. Gov. JB Pritzker announced the creation of 11 Emergency Medical Services Regions as part of a new plan to control the spread of the pandemic.

Kane and DuPage make up the “West Suburban Region.”

Each region will be evaluated and will have to undergo “additional mitigations” if it sees a sustained increase in the seven-day rolling rate, significant reduction in hospital capacity or overall positivity rate of 8%.

Possible mitigations include the roll back of business openings allowed under Phase 4 of the Restore Illinois plan. Examples include reduction of capacity for indoor dining, a reduction of elective surgeries at hospital and additional limits on gatherings and room capacity.

The good news for Kane County is that the new plan takes Kane out of the Northeast Region that includes Cook County and the city of Chicago, where positivity rates, death tolls and numbers of confirmed cases have been significantly higher.

The not-as-good news is that DuPage numbers have been higher than Kane’s in terms of total deaths and confirmed cases.

Presently, the state website shows Kane County with 8,218 cases and 286 deaths. The same graphic shows DuPage at 9,867 confirmed cases and 492 deaths.

Both counties are in the targeted range in every category of the County Level COVID-19 Risk Metrics.

“Expanding to 11 regions allows for a more granular approach in this phase of the response to COVID-19,” sate officials said in a news release. “The new regions follow county lines to account for counties that are in more than one region of the EMS system.”

At previous County Board meetings, Kane County officials had argued that the county should lobby to be removed from the Northeast Region so that the county could advance more quickly to the next levels of the five-phase Restore Illinois plan.

Under the new regional organization, the city of Chicago is its own region and the balance of Cook County is its own region.

The new regions are:

  1. NORTH: Boone, Carroll, DeKalb, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside, Winnebago
  2. NORTH-CENTRAL: Bureau, Fulton, Grundy, Henderson, Henry, Kendall, Knox, La Salle, Livingston, Marshall, McDonough, McLean, Mercer, Peoria, Putnam, Rock Island, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Woodford
  3. WEST-CENTRAL: Adams, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Christian, Greene, Hancock, Jersey, Logan, Macoupin, Mason, Mason, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Pike, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott
  4. METRO EAST: Bond, Clinton, Madison, Monroe, Randolph, St. Clair, Washington
  5. SOUTHERN: Alexander, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Marion, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Union, Wabash, Wayne, White, Williamson
  6. EAST-CENTRAL: Champaign, Clark, Clay, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, De Witt, Douglas, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Iroquois, Jasper, Lawrence, Macon, Moultrie, Piatt, Richland, Shelby, Vermillion
  7. SOUTH SUBURBAN: Kankakee, Will
  8. WEST SUBURBAN: DuPage, Kane
  9. NORTH SUBURBAN: Lake, McHenry
  10. SUBURBAN COOK: Suburban Cook
  11. CHICAGO: City of Chicago

A map of the resurgence plan regions will be available on the state’s coronavirus website: www.coronavirus.illinois.gov.

Read More