$250 Million in Infrastructure Grants Include $9 Million For Kane County, Municipalities, Townships

$250 Million in Infrastructure Grants Include $9 Million For Kane County, Municipalities, Townships

The Illinois Department of Transportation today (Thursday, July 30, 2020) announced the second of six $250 million grants to counties, municipalities and townships to address local transportation needs.

Kane County’s portion of this installment is $2,879,817. Townships in Kane County will receive a total of $301,971, and municipalities will receive $5,973,258.

Scroll down to see the grands for Kane municipal, township and county governments. A complete list of local agencies and awards can be viewed here.

The grants are part of the Rebuild Illinois capital plan, which officials call the largest in state history.

“For too long, Illinois has relied on legacy infrastructure investments without tending to them properly to maintain our status as a transportation hub for the nation. Rather than build on our storied history and strong foundation, our critical infrastructure has been allowed to deteriorate,” Gov. JB Pritzker said. “Thanks to dedicated funding in the bipartisan Rebuild Illinois plan, we’re investing in our roads and bridges and cementing our leadership position as a global transportation powerhouse.”

Today’s announcement is part of $1.5 billion being distributed over three years to advance municipal, township and county projects statewide. Eligible projects include road and bridge improvements, traffic signal upgrades, new storm sewers and bike paths, sidewalk replacement and other long-term maintenance needs.

Projects will be selected and managed locally with IDOT oversight.

“In Illinois, we don’t have just state or local roads and bridges, but one system of transportation that stretches across all modes and involves multiple partners working together,” said Acting Transportation Secretary Omer Osman said. “This funding through Rebuild Illinois means our cities, neighborhoods and rural areas have the resources they need during this uncertain time, but also enhances quality of life, encourages additional investment and improves safety for years to come.”

The local component of the Rebuild Illinois grant program is distributed via the state motor fuel tax formula, which resulted in in an additional $860 million for counties, municipalities and townships in the past fiscal year alone.

Passed in 2019, Gov. Pritzker’s historic and bipartisan Rebuild Illinois is investing a total $33.2 billion into the state’s aging transportation system, creating jobs and promoting economic growth. Rebuild Illinois is not only the largest capital program in state history, but also the first one that touches all modes of Illinois transportation: roads and bridges, transit, waterways, freight and passenger rail, aviation, and bicycle and pedestrian accommodations.

As part of the recently announced FY2021-26 Proposed Highway Improvement Program, IDOT is investing a total of $21.3 billion to improve roads and bridges over the next six years, the second multiyear plan that captures the impact of Rebuild Illinois. Of that, $4.7 billion will be dedicated to local transportation systems.


Kane County Distribution


  • Kane County — $2,879,817.69

Kane Townships

  • Aurora — $23,963.90
  • Batavia — $7,893.65
  • Big Rock — $16,324.79
  • Blackberry — $34,220.17
  • Burlington — $16,118.18
  • Campton — $18,155.66
  • Dundee — $15,733.64
  • Elgin — $16,181.31
  • Geneva — $1,731.86
  • Hampshire — $18,413.93
  • Kaneville — $13,219.79
  • Plato — $22,460.19
  • Rutland — $16,336.27
  • St Charles — $51,369.43
  • Sugar Grove — $11,980.09
  • Virgil — $17,868.69

Kane Municipalities

  • Aurora — $2,173,720.47
  • Batavia — $286,078.00
  • Big Rock — $12,367.97
  • Burlington — $6,788.11
  • Campton Hills — $122,262.78
  • Carpentersville — $420,587.93
  • East Dundee — $31,414.21
  • Elburn — $61,532.31
  • Elgin — $1,188,335.82
  • Geneva — $236,100.85
  • Gilberts — $75,558.86
  • Hampshire — $61,103.93
  • Kaneville — $5,316.25
  • Lily Lake — $10,907.10
  • Maple Parkv$14,389.03
  • Montgomery — $202,522.79

SOURCE: state of Illinois news release