Kane County Cougars Clinch Spot in 2019 Playoffs

Kane County Cougars Clinch Spot in 2019 Playoffs

The Kane County Cougars, minor league affiliate of the Arizona Diamondbacks, have clinched a spot in the 2019 Midwest League Playoffs following an 8-4 victory over the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers on Thursday night (Aug. 29, 2019). This is the third post-season bid for the Cougars in the last five seasons that they have been teamed up with the Diamondbacks.

Due to a close race between the Cougars and the Clinton LumberKings for the second-half champion, a playoff schedule has yet to be determined.

Playoff tickets and parking passes will go on sale once the final standings have been decided.

The Cougars will return home to Northwestern Medicine Field for game two of the best-of-three series at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 5. A third game, if necessary, would also be hosted by the Cougars at 6:30 p.m. Friday, Sept. 6.

Playoff tickets are now available online at kccougars.com or by calling the box office at 630-232-8811. Fans can purchase both box or reserved tickets for $10 each while StrikeZone tables will be available for $79 each.

Thursday’s game will also feature Miller Lite Thirsty Thursday specials with $1 beers, hot dogs and small sodas.

The Cougars look to bring home their first Midwest League Championship since 2014 and are vying for their third league championship in franchise history. This season marks the 17th playoff appearance in the 29-year history of the Cougars organization.

Clinching the second-half Western Division Championship on Sept. 2 in a victory over the Burlington Bees, the Cougars finished the second half with a record of 46-24.

For updates throughout the playoffs, follow the Cougars on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram.

About the Kane County Cougars

The Cougars, Class-A Minor League affiliate of the Arizona Diamondbacks, have been at the forefront of family-friendly entertainment since 1991. In 2015, the franchise became the first Class-A team in Minor League Baseball history to welcome 11 million fans through the gates.

A total of 180 former Cougars have reached the Major Leagues including Miguel Cabrera, Nelson Cruz, Josh Beckett, Adrian Gonzalez, Kyle Schwarber and Willson Contreras.