Caputo, Thomas Will Lead Aurora's Census 2020 Count Committee

Caputo, Thomas Will Lead Aurora’s Census 2020 Count Committee

College of DuPage President Dr. Brian Caputo and Kane County Board member Angela Thomas have been chosen to lead the city of Aurora’s 2020 Census Count Committee.

According to a city of Aurora news release, the Aurora City Council approved the establishment of the Aurora Complete Count Committee in June. The committee is charged with spearheading a comprehensive action plan for Aurora to have a full and complete count in the 2020 Census.

Comprised of a cross section of community members, the Aurora CCC has held two monthly planning meetings. During its July meeting, the committee unanimously approved Caputo as chair and Thomas as vice chair.

A retired lieutenant colonel in the United States Army, Caputo was Aurora’s chief financial officer and city treasurer for nearly 20 years.

An entrepreneur and former government policy analyst, Thomas was elected to the Kane County Board in 2016 and in 2018, she was selected to serve as vice chair of the Kane County Board.

“We are in proven and capable hands with Brian and Angie at the helm of a top-notch team,” said Mayor Richard Irvin. “Full and total participation in the 2020 Census is critical for our community. The members of the Aurora Complete Count Committee are key stakeholders who have insight and connections to every segment of Aurora. A strong, dedicated team led by stalwart leaders will make all the difference in this endeavor.”

Caputo, Thomas and members of the committee will join Mayor Irvin for a media briefing on Tuesday, Sept. 3, to announce communitywide plans for Aurora.

The 2020 Census counts every person living in the United States and five U.S. territories. The census is conducted every 10 years by the U.S. Census Bureau, a nonpartisan government agency.

By April 1, 2020, households will receive an invitation to participate in the 2020 Census and will have three ways to respond: online, by phone, or by mail. Learn more at

More information on the Aurora CCC, including meeting minutes, can be found at

Read More