John Guddendorf Jr. Is Sugar Grove Citizen of The Year

John Guddendorf Jr. Is Sugar Grove Citizen of The Year

Longtime Sugar Grove community activist John Guddendorf Jr. has been named the 2019 Sugar Grove Citizen on the Year.

Sugar Grove Village President Sean Michels and Sugar Grove Chamber of Commerce Treasurer Jackie Link made the presentation to Guddendorf on July 26 as part of the opening ceremony of the Sugar Grove Corn Boil.


Guddendorf was nominated by colleagues, neighbors and friends, who cheered from the lawn as he accepted the award.

Guddendorf moved with his family to Sugar Grove more than 50 years ago. He is a trustee on the Sugar Grove Fire Protection District board and a volunteer for the village of Sugar Grove Planning Commission.

“He is well known, respected and appreciated throughout the village as a humble, thoughtful and dedicated resident and volunteer,” Chamber of Commerce officials said in a news release.

Guddendorf and his wife, Shirlee, volunteer for Sugar Grove committees and events that include Holiday in the Grove, the Sugar Grove Corn Boil, NFP, Sugar Grove Christmas Tree Decorating, Sugar Grove Farmer’s Market, Sugar Grove Food Pantry and Sugar Grove Public Library fundraising.

After graduating from Kaneland High School, Guddendorf starting working for Kane County Department of Transportation in 1978. In 2012, He was nominated by Carl Schoedel, KDOT’s director of transportation and county engineer, and received the 2013 for American Public Works Association, Chicago Metro Chapter, Professional Manager of the Year Award in public rights of way.

Guddendorf retired in 2015 after 37 years of service.

His hobbies include bicycling, cooking, gardening, traveling and woodworking.

Established in 1998 by the village of Sugar Grove and the Sugar Grove Chamber of Commerce & Industry as an annual recognition program, “Citizen of the Year” is intended to recognize, from among the nominations, the selected individual or group, which this year best exemplifies that pioneering spirit which helps the village grow and prosper.

Local supporters and contributors to the Citizen of the Year include Sugar Grove Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Sugar Grove Farmers Market, Sugar Grove Public Library, Sugar Grove Library Friends, Sugar Grove United Methodist Church, Dan and Pat Graceffa, and the village of Sugar Grove.

Previous Sugar Grove Citizens of The Year

  • 2018 Mary Ochsenschlager
  • 2017 Al Markus
  • 2016 Ruth Frantz
  • 2015 Bob Bohler
  • 2014 Wayne Parson
  • 2013 Joe Didier
  • 2012 Helen Jorgensen
  • 2011 Lil Adams
  • 2010 Beverly Holmes Hughes
  • 2009 Jim Wilhelm
  • 2008 Karen McCannon
  • 2007 Joe Wolf
  • 2006 Pat Graceffa
  • 2005 Karen Pritchard
  • 2004 Arnie and Byrel Liefheit
  • 2003 David Seraphin
  • 2002 Kevin Tindall
  • 2001 Delmar and Ruth Krieghbaum
  • 2000 Stan Anderson
  • 1999 Chris Dayvolt
  • 1998 Terry Siebert

Scholarship Winners

Friday evening, July 26, 2019, as a part of the Sugar Grove Corn Boil opening ceremony, Sugar Grove Chamber of Commerce President Larry Jones announced the awarding of the 2019 Sugar Grove Chamber of Commerce & Industry Scholarships.

Alexander Lund, Danielle Denning and Sophie Michels each received a $500 scholarship for graduating male and female high school seniors.

This fall, Lund and Denning will attend Illinois State University and Michels will attend University of Wisconsin Whitewater.

The recipients were selected because of their understanding of the vital importance of community service as well as statements on their High School academic status, extra-curricular activities, and community service or community involvement.

The Sugar Grove Chamber offers these scholarships in an effort to recognize and support home grown potential.

SOURCE: Sugar Grove Chamber of Commerce news release