Kane's Barbosa, Andersson Will Serve on State's Human Rights Commission

Kane’s Barbosa, Andersson Will Serve on State’s Human Rights Commission

Kane County Zoning Board of Appeals chairman Manuel Barbosa and former state Rep. Steven Andersson of Geneva have been chosen to serve on the Illinois Human Rights Commission.

The state of Illinois announced the appointments on June 12.

The commission’s mission is to provide a neutral forum for resolving complaints of discrimination filed under the Illinois Human Rights Act.

The act forbids discrimination based on: sex, age, race, color, religion, arrest record, marital status, sexual orientation, physical and mental disability, citizenship status (with regard to employment), national origin, ancestry, unfavorable military discharge, familial status (with respect to real estate transactions), military status, sexual harassment, and orders of protection.

Manuel Barbosa

Manuel Barbosa is a retired U.S. bankruptcy judge who served for 15 years in the Northern District of Illinois before retiring in 2013.


He served as chairman of the Illinois Human Rights Commission upon its creation under Gov. James Thompson and also under Gov. Jim Edgar.

Barbosa started his legal career as a Kane County assistant state’s attorney and was in private practice in Elgin for 20 years.

Barbosa obtained his bachelor’s degree in literature from Illinois Benedictine University, where he serves on the President’s Advisory Council, as well as the Liberal Arts Advisory Council.

He received his Juris Doctor from John Marshall Law School in1977 and serves on the Board of Visitors for Northern Illinois University School of law.

He served on the Metra board of directors and was chairman of the Kane County Zoning Board of Appeals.

Steven A. Andersson

Steven Andersson has been a licensed attorney for more almost three decades. He is a partner at the law firms of Mickey, Wilson, Weiler, Renzi and Andersson, P.C. and the Elder Law Center, P.C.


He is admitted to practice law at all Illinois courts, the United States Supreme Court, the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, and United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois.

Andersson was the state representative for Illinois’ 65th legislative district from 2015 to 2019 and served as Republican floor leader in 2018.

During the 99th General Assembly, Andersson was a leader of the Republican coalition that joined with the Democratic caucus to end the longest state budget impasse in U.S. history.

Andersson has been a strident defender of the rights of all people, including being the chief co-sponsor for the ERA, a two-time sponsor of the Equal Pay Act and chief co-sponsor of the LGBTQ curriculum bill.

Prior to joining the Illinois House of Representatives, Andersson served his community as a trustee and treasurer on the Geneva Library District Board for approximately five years, including serving two years as treasurer.

Andersson is a past president of the Kane County Bar Association. He is also a member of the Kane County Bar Foundation; Illinois Bar Association; American Bar Association; National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys; and served on the governing board of the Aurora Family Counseling Service and Big Brothers Big Sisters.

Four others were selected to serve on the Illinois Human Rights Commission. They include James A. Ferg-Cadima, who will serve as chair, Barbara Barreno-Paschall, Robert A. Cantone and Jeffrey Shuck.

SOURCE: state of Illinois news release