Kenyon Wins Commissioners' Vote For Forest Preserve President

Kenyon Wins Commissioners’ Vote For Forest Preserve President

Kane County Forest Preserve Commission President Michael Kenyon won another term Tuesday in a 17-7 vote over Commissioner Drew Frasz.

Michael Kenyon

Unlike the Kane County Board chairmanship, which is an elected position, the president of the Forest Preserve Commission is selected via a vote of the 24-member commission.

The Forest Preserve Commission is made up of the same 24 people who serve as County Board members, but the commission is a separate political entity with a separate property tax, budget, staff and mission statement.

Kenyon has been president since 2014. He followed John Hoscheit, who stepped down after 12 years.

Read More