Kane County Seeks Applicants For RTA Board of Directors Post

Kane County Seeks Applicants For RTA Board of Directors Post

Kane County is seeking a person to replace former St. Charles Mayor Don DeWitte on the Regional Transportation Authority Board.

According to medai reports, DeWitte has been selected to fill the 33rd District state Senate seat soon to be vacated by Republican Karen McConnaughay.

Don DeWitte

Applications from Kane County residents interested in the next available Kane County appointment to the region’s RTA Board of Directors will be accepted at the Kane County Board Office through Friday, Oct. 26.

A formal vetting process by a special interview panel is scheduled the week of Nov. 5 and a recommendation presented to the full County Board on Nov. 13.

The RTA’s primary responsibilities are financial and budget oversight of the Chicago Transit Authority, Metra and Pace, and regional transit planning issues. Guiding the RTA’s oversight responsibility is the Board of Directors who approves an annual budget and two-year financial plan. The board consists of 15 members appointed from the six-county region and a chairman elected by the appointed members.

The RTA Board is also required annually to review and approve a five-year capital plan, which is a blueprint of the capital activities to be funded by the RTA and executed by the CTA, Metra and Pace.

(CREDIT: RTA website)

Kane County Board Chairman Chris Lauzen is empowered by state statute to make the Kane County appointment with the advice and consent of the County Board and will convene an interview panel that will include members from the County Board and county staff to vet and recommend a candidate resulting from a countywide search.

Applicants must be a Kane County resident to qualify for consideration.

According to Illinois law, RTA board members may not be an officer, a member of the Board of Directors or Trustees or an employee of any transit Service Board (Metra, Pace or CTA) or transportation agency, or be an employee of the state of Illinois, or any department or agency of the state of Illinois, or of any municipality, county, or of any unit of local government or receive any compensation from any elected or appointed office, except that a director may be a member of a school board.

The RTA Board of Directors position pays $25,000 annually, and does not include health or pension benefits.

Applicants must submit a resume and cover letter to the County Board Office outlining their qualifications and explaining their interest in the position. The interview panel will take into account experience that is relative or applicable to the position, availability to serve, and a convincing demonstration of why candidates consider themselves qualified.

The County Board will make public a list of all applicants as well as finalists.

Applications can be submitted in person, by mail, FAX or sent electronically to:

Chris Lauzen, Kane County Board Chairman, Kane County Government Center, 719 S. Batavia Ave., Building A, County Board Office, 3rd Floor, Geneva, Illinois 60134.

For more information, call 630-232-2930 or email CLauzen@kanecoboard.org.

SOURCE: Kane County news release

How To Apply For Kane County Appointed Positions

More than 300 individuals serve on 39 boards and commissions in Kane County, which means that there is almost always a vacancy that needs to be filled.

If you’re interested in serving your community, there’s an easy way to find a board or commission that  draws your interest and when vacancies and/or reappointments are coming up.

Kane County’s directory of Appointed Positions, Boards and Commissions is now available online or in printed form by request.

As mentioned above, interested persons can apply online at using this form.

There are many appointed positions to choose, from Administrative Adjudication Officer to Zoning Board of Appeals. See the list below to get an idea of the categories of appointed positions.

Mark VanKerkhoff, Kane County Development & Community Services Department director, says volunteering for an appointed position is a great way to contribute your time and talents to the community.

“Not all citizens of Kane County serve on one of Kane County’s local boards and commissions, but it really does take a lot of people,” he said. “The citizens who serve on them are an important part of making Kane County a better place to live, work and play.”

Apply online or contact the County Board Office at 630-232-5930.

Kane County Appointed Positions

  • Administrative Adjudication Officer
  • Agricultural Conservation Easement and Farmland Protection Commission
  • Animal Control Administrator
  • Big Rock Drainage District #2
  • Board of Health Advisory Committee
  • Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) Board
  • Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning Policy Committee
  • County Building Officer
  • County Engineer
  • County Extension Board
  • County Plat Officer
  • County Zoning Enforcement Officer
  • Delinquent Tax Sale Agent
  • Drinking and Driving Task Force
  • Economic Development Advisory Board
  • Ethics Advisor
  • Fire Protection Districts
  • Fox Valley Park District
  • Grand Prairie Sanitary District
  • Historic Preservation Commission
  • Judicial and Public Safety Technology Commission (JPSTC)
  • Kane County Board of Review
  • Kane County Community Development Commission (CDBG)
  • Kane County Emergency Communications Board (KaneComm)
  • Kane County Emergency Telephone Systems Board (Kane ETSB)
  • Kane County Farmland Assessment Review Committee
  • Kane County Liquor Control Commission
  • Kane County Office of Emergency Management Director
  • Kane County Road Impact Fee Advisory Committee
  • Kane County Stormwater Management Planning Committee
  • Kane-Elgin HOME Commission
  • Lake Marian River Conservancy District
  • Longmeadow Parkway Corridor Task Force – Not Active
  • Mental Health Advisory Committee 28 Metra Board of Directors
  • Mill Creek Special Service Area Advisory Body
  • Mill Creek Water Reclamation District
  • Northwest Kane Airport Authority
  • Pace Board of Directors
  • Plato Rutland Drainage District
  • Public Building Commission
  • Regional Planning Commission
  • Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) Board of Directors
  • Rob Roy Drainage District #2
  • Sheriff’s Merit Commission
  • Sugar Grove Drainage District #1
  • Supervisor of Assessments
  • Upper Illinois River Valley Development Authority (UIRVDA)
  • Zoning Board of Appeals