Kane County Cougars Season Ends, Franchise Announces 2019 Schedule

Kane County Cougars Season Ends, Franchise Announces 2019 Schedule

The Kane County Cougars just missed a wildcard spot in the playoffs this season, and the Arizona Diamondbacks Class A affiliate already is looking forward to 2019.

After a 16-6 run to finish off the regular season, the Kane County Cougars finish 2018 with a 72-66 record overall, according to the Kane County Cougars website. They finished with a record of 37-32 in the second half of the season.

The Cougars made it exciting in the final homestand, with a 10-inning walk-off win Sunday night (Sept. 2) followed by a 4-1 loss Monday to the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers.

The Cougars needed a win from Ceder Rapids over Beloit on Monday to sneak into the playoffs, but it was not to be.

Cougars Announce 2019 Season Schedule!

The Kane County Cougars organization has announced the game schedule for the 2019 season.

Opening Night, which will mark the 29th season of Cougars baseball, will take place at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, April 4, against the Clinton LumberKings. The Cougars will face the LumberKings in a brief two-game homestand before traveling to Clinton for the second half of a home-and-home series.

In 2019, Kane County will play host to a handful of Eastern Division opponents including the Great Lakes Loons (May 6-8), Lansing Lugnuts (May 9-11), Bowling Green Hot Rods (July 17-19) and the Dayton Dragons (July 20-22).

Fans will be treated to a total of 25 post-game fireworks shows beginning Friday, May 10, with Thirsty Thursdays taking place all season long beginning on Opening Night.

Kids age 3-10 eat for free during Sunday games beginning on May 26, and every Saturday game from June 15 through Aug. 31, fans will be allowed early entry into the ballpark with their game ticket for a pre-game concert in the Acres Music Garden.

Additional special events, promotions and theme nights will be announced as they are confirmed throughout the off-season.

Follow the Cougars on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram for updates throughout the year.

About the Kane County Cougars

The Cougars, Class-A Minor League affiliate of the Arizona Diamondbacks, have been at the forefront of family-friendly entertainment since 1991. In 2015, the franchise became the first Class-A team in Minor League Baseball history to welcome 11 million fans through the gates. A total of 171 former Cougars have reached the Major Leagues including Miguel Cabrera, Nelson Cruz, Josh Beckett, Adrian Gonzalez and Kyle Schwarber.