7 Future Engineers, Public Works Leaders Win APWA Scholarships

7 Future Engineers, Public Works Leaders Win APWA Scholarships

Seven future leaders in the fields of engineering and public works have been awarded scholarships by the Fox Valley Branch of the Chicago Metro Chapter of the American Public Works Association.

Awards were presented June 12 during a luncheon at the Randall Oaks Golf Course in West Dundee.

This year’s amazing recipients are:

  • Marissa Banks of Algonquin, a senior at the University of Illinois. She is working on obtaining a degree in civil engineering with minor in urban planning and studies.
  • Anish Bhatt of Lake In The Hills, a junior at Iowa State University, where he is studying civil engineering as well as earning a certificate in leadership studies.
  • Sarah Carr of Hampshire, a freshman at Kansas State University majoring in civil engineering.
  • Maddie Dearborn of Crystal Lake, a sophomore at the University of Alabama, majoring in civil engineering.
  • Luke Kazmer, a senior at Marquette University. He is working on a major in civil engineering.
  • Emma Plum of Naperville, a freshman at Iowa State University, majoring in civil engineering.
  • Tristan Sanderson of Hinckley, a junior at Iowa State University. He is working on his major in civil engineering.

APWA has been awarding scholarships to local students over the past 32 years. The scholarship program is open to residents and employees who live in DeKalb, portions of DuPage, Kane, Kendall and McHenry counties.

Students have a major course of study that encompasses the fields of civil or environmental engineering, traffic engineering, public works administration and other programs within the public works field.

About APWA

APWA is a national and international professional organization that serves all aspects of public works. Its membership consists of public works directors, city engineers, facility managers, fleet manager, property and equipment superintendents, utilities managers, park directors, county officials, representatives from engineering and other consulting firms, construction companies, manufacturers and a multitude of other service providers.

The goals of APWA are to define the value of public works and ensure excellence in education. Through the scholarship program, the FVB works to assist in the education of future public works professionals and helps them find summer internships.

  • FEATURE PHOTO CAPTION: From left to right are Carl Schoedel, Kane County engineer and Scholarship Committee co-chair; Michelle Lipinski, of Rubino Engineering, Inc., FVB APWA’s 2018 president; Luke Kazmer; Sarah Carr; Emma Plum; Maddie Dearborn; and Karen Kase of Hampton Lenzini & Renwick, Inc., Scholarship Committee co-chair.