Top 10 KCC Stories of 2017 — No. 1: April Election Results in Kane County, IL

Top 10 KCC Stories of 2017 — No. 1: April Election Results in Kane County, IL

  • Editor’s Note: This is the 10th and final story in a series counting down the top 10 Kane County Connects stories of 2017.

One of the services Kane County Connects provides is gathering election results and reporting them to citizens on election night.

Readers value this service for many reasons, but probably the factor most appreciated is that we do the math for you.

The spring 2017 local elections included mayoral and village president races, so to know who won some of those races, you have to add totals from local election commissions.

For Barrington Hills, for example, we gathered information and added the totals from election commissions in Kane, Cook, McHenry and Lake to let you know who won. For the Aurora mayoral race, we gathered info from the Aurora Election Commission and DuPage County.

Kane County Connects updates election stories throughout the evening and into the early morning hours, then double checks final totals on the following day. There are often swings in momentum as the totals come in, so there’s a little bit of drama throughout the night.

That drama, combined with the timeliness of the information, is why election-night articles are so popular. In this case, the No. 1 most-read story of the year garnered 17,714 page views.

No. 1: Spring 2017 Mayoral Election Results

Richard Irvin defeated Rick Guzman by 174 votes in the April 2017 Aurora election for mayor. Almost 15,000 voters cast ballots, so the margin was just slightly more than 1 percent — a close race, indeed.

While the Aurora contest was probably the headliner of the night, other mayoral and village president races were of high interest, as well.

There were three-way races for village president in Elburn and South Elgin. Jeffrey D. Walter won the Elburn race over Christopher G. Mondi and David J. Gualdoni. In South Elgin, Steve Ward narrowly defeated Bill DiFulvio and Lisa G. Guess.

In other races, Geneva incumbent Kevin R. Burns turned away a challenge by Thomas Simonian, longtime Batavia Mayor Jeffery Schielke defeated Jason Stoops, former Carpentersville Fire Chief John M. Skillman defeated incumbent Village President Edward M. Ritter, Rick Overstreet defeated Mike L. Carlson in Lily Lake and Martin J. McLaughlin defeated Louis Iacovelli in the race for Barrington Hills village president.

Kane County Connects also reported April 4 School Board election results, municipal election results and referendum results.

2017 Top Stories Countdown


Kane County Connects welcomes news releases from established, reliable sources, including local units of government, clubs and organizations and non-profits that have news or information to share with a countywide audience. For any post, we need three elements at minimum: copy-worthy text, a link to the source website and an image. (Feature image is horizontal, at least 800 pixels wide.) For more information or to submit a press release for consideration, email