Cougars Pitcher's Perfect Game Named Top Performance of 2017 Minor League Baseball Season

Cougars Pitcher’s Perfect Game Named Top Performance of 2017 Minor League Baseball Season

Minor League Baseball announced that fans have selected Kane County Cougar Connor Grey’s perfect game as the Top Performance of the season during the 2017 Minor League Baseball Yearly award online voting process.

The MiLBY’s are awarded annually to the most outstanding players, teams, performances and promotions of the year. The online voting process takes place at, the official website of Minor League Baseball.

Among the other 10 nominees, Grey’s perfect performance received 25 percent of the votes to earn the Fans’ Choice.

On Sept. 1, in his final outing of the 2017 season for the Cougars, Grey tossed the first perfect game in franchise history using exactly 100 pitches, 70 of which were strikes. Grey’s perfect game was also the first by a Midwest League pitcher since 2004 and the first for an Arizona Diamondbacks Minor Leaguer.


Following the historic outing, the Cougars front office is now proudly displaying a signed Connor Grey jersey along with the game rubber and official scorecard from Sept. 1.

The Cougars already are looking ahead at the 2018 season. Fans can book a 2018 group outing in the Super Suite, rooftop deck or outfield deck with the Cougars by Dec. 15 and receive your choice of exclusive perks, including a free domestic keg of beer, general parking passes or party suite based on available dates. Visit for more information or call 630-232-8811 to speak with a representative.

For updates on tickets and promotions follow the Cougars on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

About the Kane County Cougars

The Cougars, Class-A Minor League affiliate of the Arizona Diamondbacks, have been at the forefront of family-friendly entertainment since 1991. In 2015, the franchise became the first Class-A team in Minor League Baseball history to welcome 11 million fans through the gates. A total of 161 former Cougars have reached the Major Leagues including Miguel Cabrera, Nelson Cruz, Josh Beckett, Adrian Gonzalez and Kyle Schwarber.