Early Voting Now Open For 2 Kane County Primaries

Early Voting Now Open For 2 Kane County Primaries

Did you know that there are primary elections coming up in Kane County this month?

According to the Kane County Clerk’s Office website, there are primaries in Aurora and Dundee townships set for Tuesday, Feb. 28. The primaries precede the Consolidated General Election, which takes place on April 4, 2017, and includes a myriad of local races and referendums. Check out the Kane County Clerk’s Office election webpage for more information.

The Aurora Election Commission website also posts valuable information about the primary and consolidated voting taking place there. The mayoral and City Council elections are among the highlights.

Early voting in the Aurora Township and Dundee Township primaries is open right now at the Kane County Clerk’s Office only. The office hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Additional early voting sites will be open starting Monday, Feb. 13, and continuing through Monday, Feb. 27.

Early voting sites include:

  • The Kane County Clerk’s Office, 719 S. Batavia Ave., Building B, Geneva, IL
  • Carpentersville Fire Station No. 3, 5000 Sleepy Hollow Road, Carpentersville, IL
  • Dundee Township, 611 E. Main St., Suite 201, East Dundee, IL
  • Village of Montgomery, 200 N. River St., Montgomery, IL

Kane County mobile units also will be going to the following locations:

  • Jewel-Osco, 1592 W. Galena Boulevard, Aurora, IL
  • North Aurora Police Department, 200 S. Lincoln Way St., North Aurora, IL
  • Jewel-Osco, 1250 W. Main St., West Dundee, IL

For more information, including dates and times, see the chart embedded below.

Upcoming Holidays

Early voting will not be available at the Kane County Clerk’s Office on Monday, Feb. 13, and Monday, Feb. 20.

The Kane County Clerk’s office will be closed on Monday, Feb. 13, 2017, for the Abraham Lincoln Holiday. Regular hours will resume at a.m. Tuesday, Feb. 14. The office will also be closed on Monday, Feb. 20, 2017, in observance of George Washington’s birthday. Regular office hours will resume at 8:30 a.m. Tuesday, Feb. 21.

For any questions, please call the Kane County Clerk’s Office at 630-232-5950.

Early Voting Success Stories

Early voting was a big success during the November presidential election.

Early Voting at Aurora Election Commission

The Aurora Election Commission announces the early voting location dates and times for the Consolidated Primary Election on Feb. 28, 2017.

Voters can cast a ballot prior to the Election Day without offering a reason or an excuse for wanting to vote early.

The law prohibits a person who voted during the early voting period from voting at the polls on Election Day. The vote cast during the early voting time period will not be counted until after the polls close on Election Day.

Vote by Mail (formally Absentee Voting) voting laws remain in place. Voters can still vote a mailed ballot as required under law.

Early Voting is conducted at the Aurora Election Commission’s office (see below for specific dates and times).

Please check your Voter Registration Card to identify your voting districts. You must live within the City of Aurora (Kane, Kendall, or Will portion of Aurora only) in order to vote at this location. Pursuant to SB0172, ID is not required to Early Vote at this election.

Early voting site: Aurora Election Commission Office, 323 West Galena Boulevard, Aurora, IL 60506. The AEC serves only the city of Aurora portions of Kane, Kendall and Will counties. For the Aurora-DuPage portion, go to www.dupageco.org for locations and times.

Dates and hours of early voting:

  • Jan. 19 though Feb. 17 — 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays. There are no weekend hours from Jan. 19 through Feb. 17.
  • Saturday, Feb. 18 — 9 a.m. to noon.
  • Sunday, Feb. 19 — 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Monday, Feb. 20, through Friday, Feb. 24 — 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Saturday, Feb. 25 — 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.
  • Sunday, Feb. 26 — 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.
  • Monday, Feb. 27 — 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

SOURCE: Kane County Clerk’s Office, Aurora Election Commission websites