Kane County Hospitals Earn High Grades (3 A's, 1 B, 1 C) in Patient Safety

Kane County Hospitals Earn High Grades (3 A’s, 1 B, 1 C) in Patient Safety

Kane County’s hospitals brought home a nice report card in Leapfrog’s Hospital Safety Grade released Monday (Oct. 31, 2016.)

Three hospitals located in Kane County — Rush Copley Medical Center in Aurora, Northwestern Medicine Delnor Hospital in Geneva and Advocate Sherman Hospital in Elgin — earned the coveted “A” grade. Presence Mercy Medical Center in Aurora earned a “B,” and Presence Saint Joseph Hospital in Elgin took home a “C.”

The Leapfrog Group’s Fall 2016 release of the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade assigns A, B, C, D and F letter grades to more than 2,600 U.S. hospitals bi-annually, and Leapfrog touts the report as “the gold standard measure of patient safety in the United States.” Of the 2,633 hospitals evaluated, 844 earned an “A,” 658 earned a “B,” 954 earned a “C,” 157 earned a “D” and 20 earned an “F.”

Presence Saint Joseph’s is the only grade to have changed since Leapfrom’s spring hospital-safety grades, released in April.

Centrega Hospital-Huntley, which opened in August, was not graded, but its sister hospitals had good grades. Centegra Hospital-Woodstock earned a B and Centegra Hospital-McHenry earned an A.

Kane County Hospitals

b-grade-fall-2016Presence Mercy Medical Center

a-grade-fall-2016Rush-Copley Medical Center

a-grade-fall-2016Northwestern Medicine Delnor Hospital

c-grade-fall-2016Presence Saint Joseph Hospital – Elgin

a-grade-fall-2016Advocate Sherman Hospital

About the Grade

Hospital Safety Score 2Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades (formerly known as Hospital Safety Scores) are assigned to more than 2,600 general acute-care hospitals across the nation twice annually. The Safety Grade is becoming the gold standard measure of patient safety, cited in MSNBC, The New York Times, and AARP The Magazine.

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses national performance measures from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), the Leapfrog Hospital Survey, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and the American Hospital Association’s Annual Survey and Health Information Technology Supplement.

Taken together, those performance measures produce a single letter grade representing a hospital’s overall performance in keeping patients safe from preventable harm and medical errors. The Safety Grade includes 30 measures, all currently in use by national measurement and reporting programs. The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade methodology has been peer reviewed and published in the Journal of Patient Safety.

Hospital safety breakdowns, including patient injuries, accidents and infections, kill over 200,000 Americans each year, making these errors the third-leading cause of death in the U.S. But not all hospitals are alike.