Elgin Announces 8 Winners of Prestigious Mayor’s Awards

Elgin Announces 8 Winners of Prestigious Mayor’s Awards

Preservation Month_Image_2016

On Tuesday, May 3, the Elgin Heritage Commission and the Downtown Neighborhood Association will honor outstanding contributors to Elgin’s heritage at the prestigious Mayor’s Awards ceremony held at The Haight, 166 Symphony Way in Elgin. Presented annually by the mayor, Elgin Downtown Neighborhood Association logoupon recommendation of the Elgin Heritage Commission, the awards recognize those who have preserved and promoted the heritage of Elgin.

Elgin Mayor David Kaptain will present eight individuals and organizations with Preservation Awards this year. Nominated by their peers, the award recipients were selected based upon their dedicated efforts to preserving Elgin’s historic architecture, neighborhoods and cultural resources.

The Mayor’s Awards for Preservation will be presented to the following eight recipients:

  1. David J. Nelson for educating and promoting an awareness of Elgin’s heritage through his seven piano concerts titled, “Reflections: Elgin Flowing through Time, The 1920s- 1970s.”
  2. Dr. Rise Jones for creating and organizing an interactive program titled, “Each One, Reach One,” a live program series that was captured on film, featuring recollections of Elgin residents during the Civil Rights movement.
  3. Kimberly Bauer for promoting an awareness of Elgin’s heritage through her blog, “Pedaling Preservation – Exploring Elgin, Illinois one building at a time.”
  4. Admirers of Beautiful Old Dwellings of Elgin for its spark grant program, begun in 2014, that helps fund projects supporting the integrity of Elgin’s historic homes.
  5. Elgin Bungalow Initiative for its commitment in documenting, cataloging and gathering interest in establishing the new Elgin Bungalow Thematic Historic District.
  6. Project 2-3-1 for the creation of a documentary film and traveling exhibit that provided a timely look at African-American history from a local perspective.
  7. Tim Ramseyer and Patrick Koziol for their historically-sensitive rehabilitation of 211 Michigan Street. Mr. Ramseyer and Mr. Koziol will receive The Henry Jensen Award.
  8. Bill Briska for his leadership and dedication in preserving Elgin’s heritage for the past 30 years through his volunteer efforts, publications, events, preservation projects and managing historical organizations. Mr. Briska will receive the Mayor George Van De Voorde Outstanding Service Award.

Additionally, three heritage building plaques will be presented to Elgin homeowners who have researched the history and architecture of their historic homes this year. Since the program’s establishment in 1986, more than 500 plaques have been presented. This year’s recipients are:

  1. Christopher & Rebekah Berry, 442 Du Page Street
  2. Carol Rauschenberger & Reid Travis, 1136 Bellevue Avenue
  3. Susan Manago & Tim Solarz, 1262 W. Highland Avenue

Screen Shot 2016-04-19 at 8.49.45 AM

About the Elgin Heritage Commission

The Elgin Heritage Commission is a citizen’s advisory board that promotes Elgin’s historic preservation activity through the protection, maintenance and preservation of the city’s architecture, historic and cultural resources. The commission is composed of nine voting members appointed by the mayor with the consent of the Elgin City Council. For more information about the commission, please contact Christen Sundquist, historic preservation planner in the community development department, at 847-931-6004.