31 Amazing Women Nominated for Elgin Leader Awards

31 Amazing Women Nominated for Elgin Leader Awards

2016 LL Horizontal Logo - variation

More than 30 amazing women and two organizations have been nominated for recognition at the YWCA Elgin’s 33rd annual leadership award luncheon.

The YWCA this week announced the nominees in one corporate category and eight individual-award categories, all of whom will be honored at the annual Leader Luncheon Awards to be held at 11 a.m. Thursday, May 12, 2016, at The Seville in Streamwood.


Photos from ywcaelgin.org provided by Ruben Ramos of Ruben Ramos Photography

The Leader Luncheon is attended by hundreds of community leaders, business and community representatives and volunteers to acknowledge and honor women in Elgin and the surrounding communities who have made significant contributions to the arts, business and professions, communications/technology, education, public service, social service, volunteer/community service and racial justice.

The women community leaders were nominated by their colleagues and peers in the following categories:

Margaret Hillis Award for the Arts

  • Elizabeth Bellaver
  • Darlene Hulin
  • Candace Kresmery
  • Gareth Mann Sitz
  • Erin Rehberg
  • Sara Sitzer

Beatrice Dorsey Award for Business and Professions

  • Katherine Hurt
  • Sharon Konny
  • Kate Volarath

Marguerite Henry Award for Communication/Technology

  • Molly Center

Harriet Gifford Award for Education

  • Rebecca M. Jurs
  • Danae Mollitor
  • Brittney Walker

Myrtle Spiegler Gerberding Award for Public Service

  • Miriam Anderson Lytle
  • Ana Lalley

Marie Grolich Award for Social Services

  • Judy Cornelius
  • Tina A. Link
  • Vivian Maly
  • Karen Oswald
  • Francis Teti-Teal

Marjorie Leonard Award for Community Service

  • Jean Bednar
  • Diane Campbell
  • Danielle Henson
  • Margaret Keen
  • Sherry Kinser
  • Kay Loeloff
  • Cherie Murphy
  • Catherine Olson

Betty Brown Racial Justice Award

  • The Rev. Janie McCutchen
  • Angelene Naw
  • Brittney Walker

The Corporate Award

  • Ebco, Inc.
  • Elgin Youth Symphony Orchestra

Please join in the celebration of these accomplished and inspirational women on May 12, 2016. Leader Luncheon reservations can be made online at YWCAelgin.org/LL2016 or call the YWCA 847-742-7930.

SOURCE: Elgin YWCA news release

2015 LL Recipients