What Roads Are Plowed By Kane County? Check Out This Map

What Roads Are Plowed By Kane County? Check Out This Map

Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 1.19.43 PM

One of those frequently asked questions this time of year is who the heck is supposed to be clearing this road I’m driving?!

The answer, as I’m sure you might guess, depends on where you are.

The Kane County Division of Transportation basically plows all the county highways, and no other routes, said Heidi Files, KDOT’s deputy chief of staff.

“That equals about 750 lane miles of county highways,” Files said. “Some of the routes in the rural parts of the county have 500 vehicles per day traveling on them, other routes in the eastern, urban part of the county handle over 50,000 vehicles per day.”

Kane County’s 20 snow routes are indicated in the various colors (green, yellow, red and blue) on the map above. Any set of contiguous colored lines represent one route. Twenty-four trucks are in operation during a full winter-weather call-out, Files said.

The Illinois Tollway handles the expressways — I-88 and I-90, for example.

State routes such as IL Route 25, IL Route 31 and others, typically are plowed by the state of Illinois, although there are some places where there’s some overlap and/or responsibility undertaken by local government agencies.

Municipalities and townships handle the vast network of smaller roads and side streets in Kane County, generally depicted by those thin brown lines on the map above.

Of course, no rule of thumb fits every contingency. Some “county” roads — Kirk or Orchard are clear examples on the above map — are plowed by Kane County in some areas and municipal or township snow-removal crews in other areas.

So, who do you call with a complaint or compliment? Here’s some information provided online:

Kane County Division of Transportation Inquiries

  • Hours of Operation: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Address: 41W011 Burlington Road, St. Charles, IL 60175
  • Phone: 630-584-1170
  • Fax: 630-584-5265
  • Email: kdotcomments@co.kane.il.us

Municipal and Township Inquiries

For roads handled by municipalities and townships, your best bet is to go online and find the phone number or email address for your city or village public works department or township road commissioner. An online list is available on the “Communities” page of the Kane County website.

IDOT General Inquiries

Address: Illinois Department of Transportation, 2300 S. Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62764

Phone: (217) 782-7820 or TTY (217) 524-4875

Web: You can now submit your concerns, suggestions, or questions online. Your comments will be reviewed during normal business hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Comments sent during the weekend (Saturday and Sunday) and on holidays will be reviewed the next business day. All comments that request a reply will be sent a response within ten business days.

Online web form