Elgin Township Assessments Published Aug. 20 in Courier-News

Elgin Township Assessments Published Aug. 20 in Courier-News

The 2015 assessment changes for Elgin Township is being published Thursday, Aug. 20, 2015, in The Elgin Courier-News.

For the record, you also can view an online PDF version of the list on the Supervisor of Assessments website on the same date that your assessment is published in the newspaper.

After all revisions and corrections by the Elgin Township assessor are applied, an equalization factor  is calculated, and each non-farm property in Elgin Township was equalized with a factor of 1.0125.

The publication of your property’s assessed value starts the clock ticking for the approximate one-month time period when you can contest the assessment. In other words, if you think your property was assessed at a higher value than its market value, and if you live in Elgin Township, you have until Sept. 21, 2015, to file a complaint with the Kane County Board of Review.

To obtain assessment information about a property in any township in Kane County, you need to call your local township assessor’s office or visit your local assessor’s website. You can do that by checking this Kane County Township Assessors directory, located on the Kane County Supervisor of Assessments website.

Click the link to see the Rules and Procedures of the Kane County Board of Review or call 630-208-3818.

2015 Filing Deadlines in Kane County

By state law, the last day that an assessment complaint may be filed is the close of business on the 30th day after publication in a local newspaper. The only exception is if the County Assessment Office is not open on the 30th day; in that instance, the deadline is automatically extended to the close of business on the next day the office is open.Final filing deadlines have already been set for the following townships:

  • Hampshire: Filing deadline has passed.
  • Big Rock: Filing deadline has passed.
  • Batavia: Filing deadline has passed.
  • Dundee: Filing deadline has passed.
  • Campton: Filing deadline has passed.
  • St. Charles: Filing deadline has passed.
  • Aurora: Aug. 20
  • Virgil: Aug. 24
  • Rutland: Aug. 31
  • Plato: Sept. 14
  • Blackberry: Sept. 14
  • Kaneville: Sept. 14
  • Sugar Grove: Sept. 14
  • Burlington: Sept. 14
  • Geneva: Sept. 14
  • Elgin: Sept. 21

Quick Links

More Helpful Links

Read More