Check Out the Agenda for Friday's Kane County Leaders Summit

Check Out the Agenda for Friday’s Kane County Leaders Summit

The 2015 Kane County Leaders Summit, set for 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. Friday at the Q Center in St. Charles, has a jam-packed agenda featuring a real-life who’s who of state, national and local leaders.

The summit will provide insights on local and regional resources, presentations by state of Illinois department heads, a keynote by Christopher Coes of SmartGrowth America and what promises to be a hot panel discussion that includes Coes, state DCEO Director Jim Schultz, IDOT Director Randy Blankenhorn, Aurora Mayor Tom Weisner and Elgin Mayor David Kaptain.

The summit also will include the first-ever Kane County Sparkler Awards, a brief ceremony honoring 10 Kane County “sparklers” that make Kane County a better place to live, work and play. The awards recognize achievement in the categories of business, partnerships and innovation.

Last-minute attendees are encouraged to register for the 2015 Kane County Leaders Summit online or contact Kane County Development Director Mark VanKerkhoff at (630) 232-3451 or

The primary topics of the summit are transportation, economic development and public health.

More About the 2015 Kane County Leaders Summit


2015 Kane County Leaders Summit Agenda

Friday, May 8

8:30                            Registration and viewing of displays

9:00                            Welcome and Opening Remarks, Kane County Board Chairman Chris Lauzen

9:15                            Overview of Local and Regional Resources: Panel Discussion

10:00                         Assessment of Interests and Needs

10:30                         Break and viewing of displays

10:45                         Keynote Speaker

Christopher CoesChristopher Coes, LOCUS, Smart Growth America

11:30                         Lunch

12:20                         Kane County Sparklers Awards

1:00                            State Resources and Visions for Illinois, Jim Schultz, Director, DCEO; Randy Blankenhorn, Acting Secretary, IDOT

2:00                            “Moving Forward Together” – Panel Discussion and Q & A* Moderator: Mayor Jeff Schielke, Batavia


  • Jim Schultz, DCEO
  • Randy Blankenhorn, IDOT
  • Christopher Coes, LOCUS
  • Mayor Tom Weisner, Aurora
  • Mayor David Kaptain, Elgin

2:45                            Final Remarks, Kane County Board Chairman Chris Lauzen

3:00                            Networking and Snacks

* Question cards are located at each table