YWCA: Help Us Honor, Empower Elgin's Women Leaders

YWCA: Help Us Honor, Empower Elgin’s Women Leaders

YWCA Leadership Luncheon 2015

Do you know a woman in the Elgin area who has demonstrated qualities of leadership and commitment to excellence in any of the categories below? If so, the Elgin YWCA is asking you to nominate her for a prestigious YWCA Elgin Leader Luncheon Award.

The deadline for submissions is 4 p.m. Thursday, March 12, 2015. You can also make an online reservation for the 32nd Annual Leader Luncheon, that will take place on May 7, 2015, by clicking here.

This event is attended by hundreds of community leaders, business representatives and volunteers who acknowledge and honor women in the Elgin area that have made significant contributions to the following categories:

Margaret Hillis Award for the Arts: Ms. Hillis was the Elgin Symphony Orchestra music director for 14 years and conducted the Chicago Symphony Chorus for 35 years.

Beatrice Dorsey Award for Business and Professions: A successful local business woman for 45 years, Ms. Dorsey was instrumental in assisting women to succeed in business.

Marguerite Henry Award for Communications/Technology: Author of more than 50 books including children’s classics, Ms. Henry held many prestigious national literacy awards.

Harriet Gifford & Hattie Griffin Award for Education: Ms. Gifford established the first school in Elgin in 1836, initiating the foundation for local educational systems.  Co-founder of the YWCA Elgin, Hattie Griffin, was an educator for more than 50 years.

Myrtle Spiegler Award for Public Service: As the first woman to assume the position of Elgin City Clerk, Ms. Spiegler designed the city flag and paved the way for women to actively participate in the field of public service.

Racial Justice Award: One award will be given to a woman who has demonstrated achievement and leadership in the field of Racial Justice.

Marie Grolich Award for Social Service: As executive director of the YWCA of Elgin for 20 years, Ms. Grolich spearheaded many innovative programs to benefit the entire community.

Marjorie Leonard Award for Volunteer/Community Service: As a volunteer and humanitarian, Ms. Leonard donated countless hours to civic organizations and social agencies.

The award criteria for each category are:

  • Significant level of achievement in the category
  • Demonstrated qualities of leadership
  • Holding past or current leadership positions in the category
  • Demonstrated commitment to excellence
  • Outstanding or innovative contribution in the category
  • Achievement which has made improvements in the specific profession, business, or service

Leadership Luncheon

  • When: Thursday, May 7, 2015; Reception at 11 a.m. and luncheon at noon
  • Where: The Seville, 700 Barrington Road, Streamwood
  • Cost: $50 per YWCA member; $55 per non-member; $1,250 Leader Circle Tables

SOURCE: ywcaelgin.org

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 9.03.17 PM