Roscoe Ebey Award Winner Is From Batavia — But Who Will it Be?

Roscoe Ebey Award Winner Is From Batavia — But Who Will it Be?

Kane County will announce the winner of Sheriff Pat Perez’ final Roscoe Ebey Citizen of the Year Award presentation at a special ceremony Thursday.

The event will take place at 11 a.m. Thursday, Nov. 6, at the Kane County Sheriff’s Office, 37W755 Illinois Route 38, St. Charles.

The Sheriff’s Office isn’t announcing the award winner, but it does provide some hints.

“This year’s award recipient is a Batavia resident who has spent a good portion of her life working with the homeless population in Kane County,” Undersheriff Pat Gengler said in an email encouraging the media to attend the event.

Perez, who will be retiring in November, created the award in 2007 to honor Roscoe Ebey, who was murdered in his Aurora Township home. Ebey was a selfless member of the community and a military veteran, the Kane County Sheriff’s Office website says.

“It is through this award that Sheriff Perez and the Ebey family can keep his memory alive by recognizing other selfless citizens who are always there to help their neighbors,” the Sheriff’s Office website says.

For additional information on the Roscoe Ebey Citizen of the year award please go to the Kane County Sheriff’ Web page


Roscoe Ebey Award Recipients

2013 – Lorraine Stahl
2013 – Christine Propheter
2013 – Lea Minalga
2012 – Clayton Muhammad
2011 – Cole Rutter
2010 – Dawn Vogelsberg
2010 – Pat Graceffa
2010 – Emily Laughead
2009 – Darlene Marcusson
2009 – Sarah Giachino
2009 – Kathy Tobusch
2008 – Fr. David Engbarth
2007 – Leslie Fleming


About the Ebey Award

Late in the night of May 29, 2007, Aurora Township resident Leslie Fleming heard a commotion outside his home. He awoke and saw a light on at his neighbor’s house. Mr. Fleming walked over to his neighbor’s house and saw someone inside. Mr. Flemming reached through a basement window and pulled the man outside and held him down until Sheriff’s Deputies arrived. Unfortunately deputies discovered that Mr. Fleming’s 83-year old-neighbor, Roscoe Ebey had been murdered in his bedroom.

Mr. Ebey was a decorated World War II military veteran and a popular member of his neighborhood. In honor of Mr. Ebey, Sheriff Perez created the Kane County Sheriff’s Office Citizen of the Year Award. It was only fitting that Mr. Leslie Fleming was the first recipient of this award. It was the selfless actions of Mr. Fleming that led to the capture of the person who was charged in the murder of Mr. Ebey. Mr. Flemming never thought of himself as a hero; he was just doing what neighbors do for each other.

Throughout the year Sheriff Perez encourages citizens to nominate one of their own for being proactive and making a difference in their community. When citizens are willing to make a commitment to step forward and make a difference in their communities everyone benefits. It is with this in mind that Sheriff Perez wants to formally recognize those persons who truly make a difference.

SOURCE: Kane County Sheriff’s Office