Who Do You Think Could Be the Kane County Citizen of the Year?

Who Do You Think Could Be the Kane County Citizen of the Year?

The list of winners of the Roscoe Ebey Citizen of the Year Award reads like a Who’s Who of Kane County public servants — Clayton Muhammad, Dawn Vogelsberg, Darlene Marcusson, the Rev. David Engbarth to name just a few.

Now Kane County Sheriff Pat Perez is seeking nominations for the 2014 Roscoe Ebey Citizen of the Year award, and he is asking for your help.

Perez created the award in 2007 to honor Roscoe Ebey, who was murdered in his Aurora Township home. Ebey was a selfless member of the community and a military veteran, the Kane County Sheriff’s Office website says, and “it is through this award that Sheriff Perez and the Ebey family can keep his memory alive by recognizing other selfless citizens who are always there to help their neighbors.”

Anyone wishing to nominate someone should send their nominations via e-mail to ArdelanJanet@co.kane.il.us or by mail to Kane County Sheriff’s Office, 37W755 IL Route 38, Suite A, St. Charles IL 60175. Nominations will be accepted until Oct. 10, 2014. The award will be presented in November.

SOURCE: Kane County Sheriff’s Office press release


Roscoe Ebey Award Recipients

2013 – Lorraine Stahl
2013 – Christine Propheter
2013 – Lea Minalga
2012 – Clayton Muhammad
2011 – Cole Rutter
2010 – Dawn Vogelsberg
2010 – Pat Graceffa
2010 – Emily Laughead
2009 – Darlene Marcusson
2009 – Sarah Giachino
2009 – Kathy Tobusch
2008 – Fr. David Engbarth
2007 – Leslie Fleming

About the Ebey Award

Late in the night of May 29, 2007, Aurora Township resident Leslie Fleming heard a commotion outside his home. He awoke and saw a light on at his neighbor’s house. Mr. Fleming walked over to his neighbor’s house and saw someone inside. Mr. Flemming reached through a basement window and pulled the man outside and held him down until Sheriff’s Deputies arrived. Unfortunately deputies discovered that Mr. Fleming’s 83 year old neighbor, Roscoe Ebey had been murdered in his bedroom.

Mr. Ebey was a decorated World War II military veteran and a popular member of his neighborhood. In honor of Mr. Ebey, Sheriff Perez created the Kane County Sheriff’s Office Citizen of the Year Award. It was only fitting that Mr. Leslie Fleming was the first recipient of this award. It was the selfless actions of Mr. Fleming that led to the capture of the person who was charged in the murder of Mr. Ebey. Mr. Flemming never thought of himself as a hero; he was just doing what neighbors do for each other.

Throughout the year Sheriff Perez encourages citizens to nominate one of their own for being proactive and making a difference in their community. When citizens are willing to make a commitment to step forward and make a difference in their communities everyone benefits. It is with this in mind that Sheriff Perez wants to formally recognize those persons who truly make a difference.

SOURCE: Kane County Sheriff’s Office website