Heads Up, Parents! New Car Seat Law Starts Jan. 1
There will be no less than 253 new laws that will go into effect Jan. 1, 2019, but the one young parents will most want to know about is the updated Child Passenger Protection Act.
As of Jan. 1, Illinois children must ride in rear-facing child-restraint seats in automobiles until age 2.
More specifically, the CPC Act provides that “when any person is transporting a child in this state who is under the age of 2 years in a motor vehicle of the first division or motor vehicle of the second division weighing 9,000 pounds or less, he or she shall be responsible for properly securing the child in a rear-facing child restraint system, unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds or is 40 or more inches tall.”
Got it? Here’s the same information, put another way:
- Children under the age of 2 must ride rear-facing.
- Children under the age of 8 must be secured in an appropriate child restraint system. An appropriate system:
- fits the child;
- fits the vehicle;
- and is used according to the manufacturer’s guidelines.
- The child restraint must be provided by parent or legal guardian.
- Every person transporting a child under age 8 is responsible for properly securing the child in the vehicle.
- Children weighing more than 40 pounds.
- Children taller than 40 inches.
- Children being transported in a vehicle weighing more than 9,000 pounds.
- $75 fine for first violation.
- $200 fine for second violation.
The reason for the new law is simple: Studies show that children who ride rear-facing are safer than those riding forward-facing.
If you have any questions, please go to www.buckleupillinois.org
SOURCE: state of Illinois news release