One Of Kane's Largest Outdoor Holiday Light Shows Now Open at Phillips Park

One Of Kane’s Largest Outdoor Holiday Light Shows Now Open at Phillips Park

One of the largest free outdoor holiday light displays in Chicagoland, the Festival of Lights opened Friday for its 11th season at Aurora’s Phillips Park, 1000 Ray Moses Drive.

Sponsored by the Aurora Rotary Club, in partnership with the city of Aurora, this signature winter event is a drive-through of more than one mile of spectacular lighted displays, many of which are animated.

Running through Dec. 26, the light show is open from 5 p.m. to 9 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and 5 p.m. to 10 p.m. Friday and Saturday.

The festival includes such magnificent displays as the Elf Village, Santa’s Toy Factory, Old Man Winter, holiday trains, gigantic snowflakes, lighted holiday trees, a starfield laser display and so much more!

Visitors can tune their car radios to the station listed at the festival’s entrance and sing-a-long with classic holiday favorites as they travel the magnificent mile of lights.

The festival is free. However, volunteers are at the end of the route to accept donations that benefit local charities.

The Aurora Rotary Club distributes the funds collected at the festival to organizations most in need including those that serve the homeless, youth, seniors, domestic shelters, and the physically and developmentally challenged. More than 45 local community organizations have benefited from the Festival of Lights since it began in 2007.

The Festival of Lights is sponsored by more than two dozen local companies, organizations and individuals whose support has allowed the event to expand every year since its inception.

For more information, visit

(CREDIT: Aurora Rotary Club)

About The City of Aurora

Located 35 miles west of Chicago, Aurora is the second largest city in Illinois with a population of 200,456.  Aurora is known as the “City of Lights” because it was one of the first in the nation to illuminate its streets with electric lights.  Situated along the Fox River and the Ronald Reagan Memorial Tollway (Interstate 88), the city extends 46 square miles encompassing Kane, DuPage, Kendall and Will counties.  Aurora also is home to six public school districts and seven townships.  For the latest news, access to an archive of past news releases or to follow the city on Facebook or Twitter, visit the city’s website at

SOURCE: city of Aurora news release