Heads Up! What’s Closed, Open on the Fourth of July 2017 Weekend

Heads Up! What’s Closed, Open on the Fourth of July 2017 Weekend

Independence Day is celebrated on Tuesday, July 4, 2017, with a lot of businesses and institutions taking a well-deserved day off.

Because the Fourth of July falls on a Tuesday, a lot of folks will be off on Monday, as well, and there will be some different nuances is “what’s closed, what’s open” this year, so pay attention and be sure to scroll down for info in post offices, Metra and PACE travel, and more.

The “long weekend” will provide opportunities for getaways and travel, and more good news is that that fireworks and parades celebrating our nation’s birthday will extend over a number of days at communities throughout Kane County.

Independence Day, commonly known as the Fourth of July or July Fourth, is a federal holiday in the United States commemorating the adoption of the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776, declaring independence from Great Britain.

Kane County

Most Kane County offices are open on Monday, July 3, but closed on the July 4 holiday. Obviously, that doesn’t include the Sheriff’s Office, which is 24-7, 365 days a year.

Kane County Connects daily e-newsletter is taking the extra day off and will not publish on Monday, July 3, or Tuesday, July 4. Click here to subscribe to the KCC e-newsletter!

U.S. Post Offices

post office kioskU.S. post offices are closed on the Fourth of July, as well.

Postal Service facilities will be closed for retail transactions on Tuesday, July 4, in observance of the Fourth of July holiday. The Post Office will be open regularly scheduled hours on July 3.

There will be no regular mail delivery and limited collection runs will be conducted on the Fourth of July. While the Postal Service is observing Independence Day on Tuesday, there are still easy ways to access stamps and other mailing services over the holiday weekend.

Customers who wish to purchase stamps, mail packages, or ship urgent letters or packages on July 4 may use the Self Service Kiosks available at select post offices. The ATM-like kiosk accepts credit or debit cards only and can handle about 80 percent of typical postal transactions – like weigh packages and dispense postage for Priority Express, Priority, First-Class and Parcel Post mail.  Self Service Kiosks are accessible 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

To obtain the phone number of a specific Post Office, customers may call 1-800-ASK-USPS.


Here is a service summary showing Metra’s Fourth of July Holiday Schedules for June 30 and July 3.  On Tuesday, July 4, trains will operate on a Sunday/Holiday schedule.

On Friday, June 30, an early getaway schedule will be in effect for all three Metra lines serving Kane County: the Burlington Northern Santa Fe Line, which runs from Aurora to Union Station in Chicago; the Union Pacific West Line, which runs from Elburn to the Ogilvie Transportation Center in Chicago; and the Milwaukee District West Line, which runs from Big Timber Road in Elgin to Union Station in Chicago.

  • BNSF — Please see the schedule for details. On Monday, July 3 an extra train will depart Chicago Union Station at 12:20 PM. Please see the schedule for details.
  • UP-W — Please see the schedule for details.
  • MD-W — Please see the schedule for details.

Click the link for Metra Day Trip ideas.

PACE Bus Service

To accommodate Metra’s early quit schedule on Friday, June 30, Pace routes 662, 665 and 668 will operate a special evening schedule. Visit http://www.pacebus.com/sub/schedules/route_notices.asp for information.

On Tuesday, July 4, 2017, the following Pace routes will operate on a Sunday schedule: 208, 215, 223, 250, 270, 290, 301, 303, 305, 307, 308, 309, 310, 311, 313, 315, 317, 318, 322, 330, 332, 349, 350, 352, 353, 356, 357, 359, 361, 364, 366, 379, 381, 383, 384, 386, 565, 568, 571, 606

Additionally, the Schaumburg Trolley, Rosemont Entertainment Circulator, and Express Service to Popular Destinations will operate as published. Visit PaceBus.com. No other service will operate unless otherwise noted.

All routes will operate normal weekday schedules on Monday July 3, and will resume operating on a weekday schedule on Wednesday, July 5.

City Halls, Townships

Non-emergency departments for municipal governments are closed on the Fourth of July.

To check your town’s schedule, Kane County’s website provides a list of links to the local-government web pages in your neck of the woods and includes lists of cities, villages and townships.

Garbage Pickup Days

AdvancedDisposalCartsPhotoIn general, garbage pickup days are delayed by a day from your usual garbage-pickup day, but check your local municipality’s public works site to be sure. Once again: cities, villages and townships.

Public and Private Schools

Obviously, public and private schools are closed.

The Kane County Regional Office of Education website offers a great Public Schools Directory and Private Schools Directory, for more information.

Libraries, Park Districts

Most libraries often are closed on Independence Day.

To find out more about which libraries and park districts are open or closed, visit the individual pages. Here’s a list of links to library districts and park districts in Kane County, once again courtesy of the Kane County, IL, website.

Federal Government

Most federal government offices are closed. That includes Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory here in Kane County.


The Federal Reserve is closed, so most banks are, as well.


The Annual Hughes Creek Firecracker Scramble is $68 and includes golf, cart, prizes and lunch buffet. Tee Times starting at 7 a.m.  Call 630-365-9200 or visit the hughescreek.com website to join the fun.