3 Kane County Educators Honored by State as Best in Their Field

3 Kane County Educators Honored by State as Best in Their Field

The Illinois State Board of Education has joined with the Illinois Federation of Teachers and the Illinois Education Association to honor 40 educators who had been selected by their professional organizations as the best in their fields during the 2016-17 school year.

Of the 40 educators that were honored, three were educators from Kane County: Sandra Gonzalez of West Aurora High School, Don Porzio of the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy, and Bev Taylor of Wasco Elementary School.

“These outstanding educators bring to life the phrase, ‘It takes a village,’ ” said State Superintendent of Education Tony Smith, Ph.D. “Educating each student as a whole child requires talented and dedicated professionals in all disciplines. I want to personally thank them for their tireless efforts to create safe and caring school climates, and for going the extra mile to make their schools places where all children feel welcomed. It is an honor and a privilege to have the opportunity to publicly recognize their efforts.”

ISBE, IFT, and IEA co-hosted the June 20 luncheon at the Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel and Conference Center.

“The Illinois Education Association is always proud to help sponsor the Teacher Recognition Luncheon, a wonderful way to thank and acknowledge Illinois’ many outstanding educators,” said IEA President Cinda Klickna. “The award winners have shown exemplary teaching in each of their fields, and they remind us that great education is being delivered to our students every day in every school in Illinois.”

ISBE administers the Those Who Excel program each fall, naming a Teacher of the Year and recognizing more than 200 educators nominated by their districts or members of their communities for outstanding service.

Township High School District 214’s Ricardo Castro was named the 2017 Illinois Teacher of the Year. Castro teaches English as a Second Language, Language Arts, and Spanish at Elk Grove High School. The annual Exemplary Teacher Recognition Award Luncheon provides an opportunity to honor other award-winning teachers from across the state.

“Teachers and school staff have some of the hardest and most important jobs in the world,” said IFT President Dan Montgomery. “They provide our students with support and offer them opportunities to grow, often with few resources. These outstanding educators have gone above and beyond, and it’s an honor to recognize them for their enthusiasm, creativity, and commitment.”

To view the full list of educators, visit ISBE’s website.

Winners From Kane County

  • Sandra Gonzalez, West Aurora High School — Illinois New Teacher of Foreign Language, Illinois Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages
  • Don Porzio, IMSA — Lee Yunker Mathematics Leadership Award, Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics
  • Bev Taylor, Wasco Elementary School — Jerry Johns Reading Educator of the Year, Illinois Reading Council

SOURCE: Kane County Regional Office of Education’s “School of Thought” e-newsletter

Read More About Kane County Educators

About the Kane County Regional Office of Education

ROE_logo_SMALLed by Regional Superintendent of Schools Patricia Dal Santo, the Kane County ROE is located in Geneva and serves nine school districts. From teacher licensure assistance to professional development, the ROE’s mission is to advocate for education, provide leadership and perform regulatory functions. Learn more about the ROE’s offerings on FacebookTwitter and by signing up for the semimonthly newsletter.