April 4 Mayoral Election Results (UPDATE): Irvin Defeats Guzman By 170 Votes in Aurora; It's Burns In Geneva, Skillman in Carpentersville

April 4 Mayoral Election Results (UPDATE): Irvin Defeats Guzman By 170 Votes in Aurora; It’s Burns In Geneva, Skillman in Carpentersville


Irvin Defeats Guzman in Close Race For Aurora Mayor

Richard Irvin will be the next mayor of Illinois’ second-largest city. (CREDIT: Photo Courtesy of the Aurora Herald)

Richard Irvin has defeated Rick Guzman in a tight race for mayor of Aurora.

According to unofficial totals from the Aurora Election Commission and DuPage County, Irvin held off a Guzman charge in DuPage County to take a 7,574-7,404 victory.

As of 10:40 p.m., totals from the AEC and DuPage County websites indicated that Guzman had apparently pulled off a come-from-behind win. In a Dewey-Defeats-Truman moment, the AEC showed all 73 precincts reported, and the combined totals at that time were 6,639-6,630 in favor of Guzman.

Twenty minutes later, the AEC site was updated to show Irvin with 5,818 votes and Guzman with 5,110 votes. Guzman led Irvin 2,294-1,756 in DuPage, making the unofficial, combined totals 7,574-7,404 in favor of Irvin.

The AEC tabulates votes in the Kane, Kendall and Will county portions of the city. DuPage County tabulates votes in its portion of Aurora.

Other Mayoral and Village President Finishes

Geneva Mayor Kevin Burns won a fifth term as mayor, defeating challenger and Fifth Ward Alderman Tom Simonian 3,913-2,409, according to unofficial totals posted on the Kane County Clerk’s Office website.

Batavia’s longtime Mayor Jeffery Schielke handily defeated a challenge from Jason Stoops 2,354-1,295.

Former Carpentersville Fire Chief John M. Skillman defeated incumbent Village President Edward M. Ritter 1,083-436.

In Elburn, village Trustee Jeffrey D. Walter gathered 357 votes, defeating Christopher G. Mondi with 195 and David J. Gualdoni with 139.

Rick Overstreet defeated Mike L. Carlson 144-83 in Lily Lake.

South Elgin Village President Steve Ward held off two challengers, Lisa G. Guess and Bill DiFulvia in a close three-way contest. Ward garnered 1,280 votes, DiFulvio 1,112 and Guess 1,070, according to unofficial totals.

More Info

Below are totals available online as of 10:40 p.m. Tuesday, April 4.

The numbers will be updated as the evening progresses and represent unofficial vote totals collected from official election websites.

To follow the results directly, click on links to the following election results pages:

To tabulate the totals for the Aurora mayoral race, you have to add the totals from the Aurora Election Commission and the DuPage County Election Commission.

For other races that straddle county lines, Kane County Connects will gather information on final vote totals if available Tuesday night.

If you see any typos, errors or omissions in the information below, please email kanecountyconnects@gmail.com.

Kane County voters who observe or experience voting problems or irregularities during voting hours from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. are encouraged to call the Kane County State’s Attorney’s Office election hotline at 630-208-5328.


Perhaps the most high-profile race on the ballot will take place in the second-largest city in Illinois, where Richard Irvin faces off against Richard Guzman. According to the city of Aurora website, Irvin has served as alderman at large since 2007 and Guzman served as former Mayor Tom Weisner’s assistant chief of staff since 2011.

The April 4 winner will be Aurora’s first newly-elected mayor since Weisner won election in 2004.

73 of 73 Precincts Reporting in AEC, 43 of 43 Precincts Reporting in DuPage

  • Richard Irvin — 5,818 AEC + 1,756 DuPage = 7,574 total *
  • Rick Guzman — 5,110 AEC + 2,294 DuPage = 7,404 total


The Geneva mayoral election pits Kevin R. Burns against Thomas Simonian. Burns has served as Geneva’s mayor since 2001, and Simonian has served as the city’s Fifth Ward alderman since 2013.

19 of 19 Precincts Reporting

  • Kevin R. Burns — 3,913 *
  • Thomas Simonian — 2,409


In Batavia, Jason Stoops takes on Jeffery Schielke in the race for mayor. Schielke has served as Batavia’s mayor for 36 years; Stoops is nearing the end of a four-year term as a member of the Batavia School Board.

22 of 22 Precincts Reporting

  • Jason Stoops — 1,295
  • Jeffery Schielke — 2,354 *

Barrington Hills

Barrington Hills’ footprint straddles four counties: Cook, Kane, Lake and McHenry. Voters in the Kane County portion will have a chance to choose between Louis Iacovelli and Martin J. McLaughlin. McLaughlin has served as village president since 2013. Iacovelli is a technology engineer and consultant who has led his homeowners association and been active in some community projects.

1 of 1 Precincts Reporting In Kane County (UPDATED 11AM April 5)

  • Louis Iacovelli — 11 (Kane) + 232 (Cook) + 158 (McHenry) + 90 (Lake) = 491 total
  • Martin J. McLaughlin — 20 (Kane) + 275 (Cook) + 157 (McHenry) + 104 (Lake) = 556 total


Two candidates are vying for the Carpentersville village president position. John M. Skillman is the former fire chief of the village of Carpentersville and Edward M. Ritter has served as village president for eight years.

21 of 21 Precincts Reporting

  • John M. Skillman — 1,083 *
  • Edward M. Ritter — 436


Three candidates are vying for village president of Elburn: Jeffrey D. Walter, David J. Gualdoni and Christopher G. Mondi. Walter has served on the village board since 2009, Gualdoni has served on the village board since 2011 and Mondi seeks his first elected office.

3 of 3 Precincts Reporting

  • Jeffrey D. Walter —357 *
  • David J. Gualdoni —139
  • Christopher G. Mondi —195

Lily Lake

In the Lily Lake contest for village president Rick Overstreet will face off with Mike L. Carlson. While most mayoral and village president terms in Kane County municipalities are for four years, the Lily Lake position is a two-year term, according to the County Clerk’s Office website.

1 of 1 Precincts Reporting

  • Rick Overstreet —144 *
  • Mike L. Carlson —83

South Elgin

South Elgin features a three-way race for village president between candidates Lisa G. Guess, Steve Ward and Bill DiFulvio. Guess has been a village trustee since 2003. Ward has served as village president since 2013. DiFulvio was a village trustee from 2001 to 2013.

16 of 16 Precincts Reporting

  • Lisa G. Guess — 1,070
  • Steve Ward — 1,280 *
  • Bill DiFulvio —1,112

Unopposed Mayoral and Village President Candidates

The following candidates ran unopposed and won election or re-election to the top position in their village or city:

  • Raymond P. Rogina for mayor of St. Charles.
  • John C. Schmitt for village president of Algonquin.
  • Kevin Wallace for village president of Bartlett.
  • Bob Walsh for village president of Burlington.
  • Lael Miller for village president of East Dundee.
  • Rick A. Zirk for village president of Gilberts.
  • Jeffrey R. Magnussen for village president of Hampshire.
  • William D. McLeod for village president of Hoffman Estates.
  • Charles Sass for village president of Huntley.
  • David Kovach for village president of Kaneville.
  • Kathleen Curtis for village president of Maple Park.
  • Matthew T. Brolley for village president of Montgomery.
  • Dale Berman for village president of North Aurora.
  • Stephan K. Pickett for village president of Sleepy Hollow.
  • Sean Michels for village president of Sugar Grove.
  • Christopher Nelson for village president of West Dundee.