Man Who Killed Roscoe Ebey In Own Home Gets 55 Years in Prison

Man Who Killed Roscoe Ebey In Own Home Gets 55 Years in Prison

Roscoe Ebey

Roscoe Ebey

Since 2007, Roscoe Ebey’s name has been associated with a Kane County Sheriff’s Office award recognizing “selfless citizens who are always there to help their neighbors.”

Now, eight years after the 83-year-old, World War II veteran was murdered in his Aurora Township home, a circuit court has issued a revised sentence for the 28-year-old man convicted of the crime.

According to a press release from the Kane County State’s Attorney’s Office, Hector M. Mauricio, 28, of the 1100 block of Ridgeway Avenue, Aurora, was sentenced Friday by Circuit Judge Susan Clancy Boles to 55 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections.

On Sept. 9, 2010, Mauricio pleaded guilty to two counts of first-degree murder in the 2007 case. He was sentenced nine months later to 60 years in prison.

In March 2014, the Illinois Appellate Court Second District ordered a new sentence.

During the sentencing hearing prosecutors presented evidence that at approximately 2 a.m. May 29, 2007, Mauricio entered Ebey’s home and stabbed him multiple times. A short time later, a neighbor awoke to a suspicious noise and went to investigate. When he saw Mauricio inside the basement of Ebey’s house, the neighbor reached through a basement window, pulled Mauricio outside by the hair and held him at bay until authorities arrived.

That neighbor, Leslie Fleming, was the first person selected to receive the Roscoe Ebey Award.

The state had originally sought the death penalty against Mauricio until the death penalty was abolished in Illinois early in 2011.

“Roscoe Ebey lived an exceptional life as a soldier, a family man and neighbor. Although it is unfortunate that his family had to relive his murder yet again, we appreciate the opportunity to seek justice for him one final time,” Kane County State’s Attorney Joe McMahon said. “Mr. Mauricio committed a vile act. This sentence reflects the seriousness of his conduct.”

According to Illinois law, Mauricio must serve 100 percent of the sentence. He receives credit for the 7½ years he’s served in the Kane County jail and in prison.

The case was prosecuted by Kane County First Assistant State’s Attorney Jody Gleason. Assistant State’s Attorney Vincent Coyle assisted with the last hearing.

The 2014 recipient of the Ebey Award was Batavia resident Carolyn Sprawka, a volunteer at Hesed House. Other previous recipients include Lorraine Stahl, Christine Propheter and Lea Minalga in 2013, Clayton Muhammad in 2012, Cole Rutter in 2011, Dawn Vogelsberg, Pat Graceffa and Emily Laughead in 2010, Darlene Marcusson, Sarah Giachino and Kathy Tobusch in 2009, Fr. David Engbarth in 2008 and Fleming in 2007.

The Ebey Award was started by Kane County Sheriff Pat Perez as a Sheriff’s Office “Citizen of the Year” recognition, and the tradition is being continued under newly elected Kane County Sheriff Donald E. Kramer.

SOURCES: Kane County State’s Attorney’s Office press release, Kane County Sheriff’s Office website